The Structure

  • Home
  • Yidan Prize
  • The Structure

The Structure

Yidan Prize is managed and governed by Yidan Prize Foundation, board of directors, an international judging committee and a global advisory board formed by a respected team of independent and authoritative experts.

  • The Board of Directors is responsible for approving the Judging Committee’s awardee recommendations.
  • The Global Advisory Board is responsible for developing the judging criteria and procedure. The board comprises:
  • Chairman
    Dr Qian Tang
    former assistant director-general for education, UNESCO
  • Convenor
    Professor Cheng Kai-ming
    emeritus professor, the University of Hong Kong
  • Member
    Dr Manzoor Ahmed
    professor emeritus, BRAC University in Dhaka and chair of the Bangladesh Early Childhood Development Network
  • Member
    Dr Jamil Salmi
    former World Bank tertiary education coordinator, emeritus professor of higher education, the Diego Portales University in Chile
  • Member
    Marc S. Tucker
    president and chief executive officer, the American National Centre on Education and the Economy
  • Member
    Dankert Vedeler
    assistant director-general, the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research’s Department of Policy Analysis, Lifelong Learning and International Affairs
  • The Judging Committee is responsible for screening nominations and selecting laureates. It comprises two independent judging panels. The committee comprises:
  • Chairman
    Dr Koichiro Matsuura
    former director-general, UNESCO

The Yidan Prize for Education Research Judging Panel

  • Andreas Schleicher
    director for the directorate of education and skills, OECD, heads the panel
  • Professor Bruce M. Alberts
    chancellor’s leadership chair in Biochemistry and Biophysics for Science and Education, the University of California, San Francisco, is the member
  • Professor Phillip A. Griffiths
    professor emeritus of mathematics, the Institute for Advanced Study in New Jersey, is the member

The Yidan Prize for Education Development Judging Panel

  • Dorothy K. Gordon
    director-general, the Ghana-India Kofi Annan Centre of Excellence in ICT, heads the panel
  • Professor Steven Cohen
    professor, School of International and Public Affairs, Columbia University, is the member
  • Dr Allan E. Goodman
    president and chief executive officer, the Institute of International Education, is the member