扩展BRAC基于游戏的早期儿童发展计划

Categories

发展项目

Education theme

包容; 政策与研究; 教学系统; 教育与社会

Focus by region

亚洲, 非洲

一丹奖奖金有助拓展基于游戏的早期儿童发展计划

在资源匮乏的社区里,解决儿童及家庭的需要

一丹奖奖金将用于扩展跨社区资源建设组织(BRAC)基于游戏的早期儿童发展计划,建立和完善具影响力和可扩展的早期儿童发展方案,从而改善0至6岁儿童的体格、认知、心理及语言发展。计划将探索如何利用科技服务资源匮乏地区,继而为家长们提供支持,为游戏组织者提供培训。

奖金亦将用于实行一系列创新计划,以在资源匮乏的社区里及人道主义的环境下应付儿童及家庭的需求。一系列创新计划包括:

  • 在孟加拉国试行家庭游戏实验室托儿模式,满足托儿服务需求之余,亦让妇女有工作的机会。建立20间托儿中心,透过课程及培训让托儿服务职工认识BRAC游戏实验室的模式及专业范畴。计划旨在聘请当地社区的年轻妇女,向他们提供技术支持,支持她们发展自己的托儿服务企业或特许经营事业,同时监督其托儿服务,以确保其服务质量。在新冠肺炎疫情期间,BRAC利用部分一丹奖的项目资金协助开发名为 “Pashe Achhi” (在你身边 )的电信模式项目,通过每周电话联系当地社区的儿童及其照顾者,为他们提供以游戏为基础及融合心理支援的教学。
  • 在乌干达试行人道主义游戏实验室。设置10个符合当地教育背景的儿童友善空间,以便未来实施及扩展其他人道主义场所。此外,计划旨在探索维持乌干达现有25间游戏实验室的日常运作需要的最低限度技术支持。
  • 在坦桑尼亚的公立小学推行游戏为本的早期儿童发展计划。在坦桑尼亚的公立小学内设置30间游戏实验室,并提高当地教师的执教能力。
  • 研究在不同情况下BRAC现有计划的成效,有助提倡扩大游戏为本的介入措施。将集中对为罗兴亚人而设立的人道主义游戏实验室,以及孟加拉国、乌干达和坦桑尼亚的3至5岁学童发展成果进行评估。
  • 通过合作伙伴关系,持续发展游戏实验室模式。BRAC现有的合作伙伴为游戏实验室和电信模式项目的开发作出了广泛贡献,当中包括芝麻街工作室、国际救援委员会、乐高基金会、哥伦比亚大学、剑桥大学和纽约大学。

Yidan Prize 2021 nominations now open until 31 March 2021

Follow this link for details of the nomination process.

Play-based early childhood development programs

Categories

Development Initiative

Education theme

Delivery systems; Education and society; Inclusion; Policy and research

Focus by region

Africa, Asia

Yidan Prize funds grows play-based early childhood development programs

Addressing the need for play-based early childhood development programs in resource constrained communities

The Yidan Prize funds will be used to expand upon BRAC’s work of implementing play-based early childhood development (ECD) programs and to create and refine high impact, scalable ECD solutions which will ultimately improve the physical, cognitive, psychosocial and language development of children aged 0 to 6. This includes exploring the possibilities of integrating technology in low resource settings, offering support to parents, and training play leaders.

Through a series of initiatives, the prize funds will also be used to address the needs of children and families in resource constrained communities and humanitarian contexts. Initiatives in the series include: 

  • Piloting the Home-Based Play Lab Childcare model in Bangladesh that solves the need for childcare services and in turn empowers women to pursue a career. Establish 20 Childcare centers and share the knowledge and expertise of BRAC’s play labs model with childcare providers through curriculum and training. The program aims to recruit young women from the local community, offer them the technical assistance and support to run their own childcare enterprise or franchise, as well as provide monitoring for quality assurance. During this pandemic, the Yidan prize fund has contributed in the development of the telecommunication model known as “Pashe Achhi” (Beside you) to provide psychosocial support integrated with play-based learning through weekly telephone calls to caregivers and children within communities.
  • Piloting the Humanitarian Play Lab (HPL) model in Uganda. Set up 10 child-friendly spaces to contextualize the model for future implementation and scalability in other humanitarian settings. In addition, the program aims to explore the minimal technical support needed to sustain the existing 25 play labs in Uganda.
  • ECD in Government Primary schools of Tanzania. Set up 30 play labs, co-located with the Tanzanian government and expand the capacities of local government teachers.
  • Studying the effectiveness of BRAC’s existing programs in different contexts, which can be used to advocate the scale-up of play-based interventions. The assessments will focus on the Humanitarian Play Labs in Rohingya setting, as well as child development outcomes of 3 to 5-year-old students in Bangladesh, Uganda, and Tanzania.
  • Continuing the development of the Play Lab model through partnerships. BRAC’s existing partners, who have widely contributed in the development of the play lab and telecommunication models, include Sesame Workshop, International Rescue Committee, LEGO Foundation, Columbia University, the University of Cambridge, and New York University.