建立「文化共融成長型心态」(CIGM) 教室

Categories

研究项目

Education theme

包容; 政策与研究; 教师、教学与学习; 教育与社会

Focus by region

北美洲

Carol S. Dweck教授协助推动“提升文化工具及学生心态之教师培训学校”计划。此计划由在密歇根大学的Stephanie Fryberg 教授(此前任职于华盛顿大学)和印第安纳大学的Mary Murphy教授带领。

研究目的如下:

  • 通过在线教学、建立有助课程发展的伙伴关系,以及创办混合学院试验已研发的培训模式,扩大教学培训课程的规模。
  • 利用一丹奖奖金,支持教师培训课程的宣传工作,推动其持续发展:指导教师建立可持续的“文化共融成长型心态”(CIGM)教室,并提升学习体验,尤其是少数族裔及低收入家庭学生的体验。
  • CIGM教室的核心理念是 1)学生不论背景(例如种族/社会阶级/性别)均会及能够作出重要贡献;2) 凭借学生坚持不懈的付出、有效的策略,以及老师同学善解人意的支持,所有学生都可茁壮成长。学生不仅专注于追求优异的学习成绩,更明白最佳的学习是包含困惑、错误和随时间而来的领悟,而老师则力求优化所有学生的进度和成长。

混合学院预计于2021年夏季成立。

课程成效的初步报告预期于2022年完成。

Yidan Prize 2021 nominations now open until 31 March 2021

Follow this link for details of the nomination process.

Culturally Inclusive Growth Mindset Classrooms

Categories

Research Initiative

Education theme

Education and society; Inclusion; Policy and research; Teachers, teaching and learning

Focus by region

North America

Professor Carol S. Dweck helped propel the initiative “Enhancing Cultural Toolkits and Student Mindsets Teacher Training Institute,” led by Professor Stephanie Fryberg of the University of Michigan (previously at the University of Washington) and Professor Mary Murphy of Indiana University.

The purposes of this study are:

  • To scale up the teaching training curriculum by delivering it online, establishing partnerships that will aid in scaling, and launching a Hybrid Institute to pilot the training modules developed
  • The Yidan Prize funds is supporting the continue development and dissemination of a teacher training curriculum that trains teachers to create sustainable Culturally Inclusive Growth Mindset (CIGM) Classrooms and enhance educational experiences, particularly for racial minority and low-income students.
  • The core beliefs of CIGM Classrooms are that 1) students from all backgrounds (e.g., race/class/gender) can and will make important contributions, and 2) all students can grow their abilities through effective effort, good strategies, and sensitive support from teachers and peers. Rather than focusing on perfect performance, students understand that the best learning involves confusion, mistakes, and mastery over time, and teachers seek to optimize and highlight all students’ progress and growth.

The Hybrid Institute is expected to be launched by summer 2021. 

The initial report of module efficacy aims to be ready by 2022.