“成长型心态”研究取得重大进展

Categories

合作项目

Education theme

包容; 政策与研究; 教师、教学与学习; 教育与社会

Focus by region

全球

携手完善教育成果

经济合作与发展组织是拥有37个成员国的跨政府经济组织,致力促进经济发展及全球贸易。

一丹奖基金会与经济合作与发展组织(OECD)和 Carol Dweck教授携手推出一项研究计划,以探究教授“成长型心态”对教育成果及学生福祉的影响。此项目将同时了解帮助老师在课堂上创造成长心态文化对学生的影响力。

根据经济合作及发展组织的国际学生学习评估项目(PISA)数据揭示,学生的“成长型心态”与学术成就、学习意愿以及克服挫折的能力之间有密切关系。此合作计划将在 Dweck教授的研究基础上,进一步从PISA中提取新数据。

PISA的数据分析显示,大多数发达经济体于过去十年间的学习成果并没有明显改善。这反映出每名学生所付出的时间与学习成果之间并没有实质的关系,从而说明优质的教学指导有可能比学生长时间学习更为重要。

这些精辟见解为推动优质教育提供了重要的指引,在未来会显得更为重要。现今世界瞬息万变,人们必须能够持续地适应环境及不断成长,这就需要具备终身学习的能力及动力,而“成长型心态”是关键所在。

Dweck教授的研究指出,我们可以有效地将“成长型心态”传递予学生。然而,该项研究尚未完全解构出如何大规模地培训教师,让他们掌握将“成长型心态”教授予学生之道,继而在教室中鼓励“成长型心态”。

该项研究旨在归纳出各种有效提升及维持学生“成长型心态”的教授方法及学习方法,目的是为了理解在不同经济体中成长型心态实践的有效性及其中原因。

此合作研究项目期望将研究结果在全球教师中普及,同时专注于研究如何在不同文化环境中培养“成长型心态“;文化差异如何影响学生接受“成长型心态”,继而对学生学习能力及情绪的影响。

研究结果将以一本刊物的形式公布。该刊物将于2021年初出版,并以教师为目标读者。

Yidan Prize 2021 nominations now open until 31 March 2021

Follow this link for details of the nomination process.

OECD Growth Mindset workshop

Categories

Collaborations

Education theme

Education and society; Inclusion; Policy and research; Teachers, teaching and learning

Focus by region

Global

Working together to improve educational outcomes

The OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) is an intergovernmental economic organisation with 37 member states. It seeks to stimulate economic progress and world trade.

In partnership with the OECD and Professor Carol Dweck, the Yidan Prize Foundation has launched a research project to examine the impact of growth mindsets on educational outcomes and student well-being. The project will also examine the impact of helping teachers to create growth mindset cultures in their classrooms.

Building on research by Professor Dweck, this project will unpack new data from the OECD PISA (Program for International Student Assessment). The numbers show a close relationship between the degree of students’ growth mindset, and their academic achievement, educational aspirations and capacity to overcome obstacles.

Analysis of the PISA data reveals that in most advanced economies there has been no real improvement in learning outcomes over the last decade. It shows there is virtually no relationship between spending per student and results achieved. It suggests that the quality of instruction may be far more important than the number of hours students spend studying.

These insights provide important pointers on how excellence in education can be scaled – and this understanding may become even more important in the future. A world where people must constantly adapt and grow implies an obvious need to build the capacity and motivation for lifelong learning. A growth mindset is at the heart of this.

Professor Dweck’s research has shown that we can effectively teach growth mindset to students. But it’s not yet fully understood how to create a program that teaches teachers on a large scale how to support growth mindsets in their classrooms.

The aim of this research is to inform teaching and learning practices that will enhance and sustain students’ growth mindset. The objective is to understand where and why growth mindset practices do and do not work.

With the vision of bringing this research to teachers around the world, the collaboration also focuses on the impact of cultural differences on how growth mindsets should be fostered and on the academic and social-emotional outcomes of growth mindset.

A teacher-targeted publication will be launched by early 2021 as a result of this collaboration.