日期
2022年6月21日
地點
線上,香港時間
從烏克蘭出發:衝突地區的難民教育

自2022 年 2 月以來,數百萬人的教育被俄烏戰爭打亂,逾半數烏克蘭兒童不得不逃離家園, 1,800 多所教育機構遭到破壞。多少烏克蘭難民兒童可以在歐洲的接納社區獲得教育機會,取決於接下來幾個月裡人們的行動。但不容樂觀的是,全球近半數的難民兒童處於失學狀態。

隨著人們越來越關注烏克蘭難民兒童的教育,也有人開始質疑敘利亞、阿富汗、羅興亞等其他地區的難民兒童是否得到同等的關注。世界對其他人道主義危機的援助本身已經很緊絀,現在更可能雪上加霜。但也有一些人認為,歐洲社區積極對烏克蘭兒童的教育問題作出回應,為改善全球政策、推進難民兒童教育帶來了機會。

6月21日,我們與Brookings Center for Universal Education共同舉辦一場線上活動,探討當今難民教育中的重要議題,當中包括: 

  • 為數百萬烏克蘭難民兒童提供教育,接納國家準備好了嗎?
  • 教師和民間組織在應對危機時,發揮著怎樣的作用?
  • 從其他接納大量難民的國家身上,我們可以汲取哪些經驗?
  • 從難民教育方面取得的經驗如何帶來更多可持續、體系上的解決方案?

一丹獎與Brookings Institution圍繞21世紀的教育展開一系列活動,共同探討未來幾十年將帶來深遠影響的教育話題。「從烏克蘭出發:衝突地區的難民教育」為該系列的第一場活動。

Brookings Institution的網站同時發佈了此活動的詳細資訊。 

議程
相片及影片
9:30–9:35pm — 歡迎致辭
  • Rebecca Winthrop,Brookings Center for Universal Education 主任及資深研究員
9:35–10:30pm — 討論
  • 主持人: Maysa Jalbout,Brookings Center for Universal Education 非常駐研究員
  • David Edwards,Education International 秘書長
  • Viktoriia Gnap, Unbreakable Ukraine基金會 聯合創始人及總裁
  • Zarlasht Halaimzai, Amna(前身為難民創傷倡議) 創始人及行政總裁
  • Erum Mariam, BRAC教育發展研究所 執行總監

Date
21 Jun 2022
Location
Virtual, EDT (GMT-4)
Ukraine and beyond: Lessons in refugee education

Since February 2022, the war on Ukraine has disrupted the education of millions. More than half of Ukrainian children had to flee their homes, and over 1,800 education institutions have been damaged. The next months will determine how many of these children can access education in their host communities across Europe. Globally, nearly half of all refugee children are out of school.

While the attention on Ukrainian children grows, advocates are questioning the double standard facing refugee children from Syria, Afghanistan, Rohingya, and other places. Some worry resources will be shifted away from other humanitarian crises that are already under-funded. Yet others believe promising responses by European host communities presents an opportunity to improve policies globally and advance innovative practices for refugee children.

On 21 June, we’re co-hosting a virtual event with Brookings Center for Universal Education to explore critical issues in refugee education today. Join our speakers as they address key questions including:

  • Are host countries prepared to deliver education to millions of refugee children from Ukraine?
  • What are the roles of teachers and civil society in response to the crisis?
  • What are the lessons learnt in other countries hosting large numbers of refugees?
  • How can our experiences in refugee education help inform more sustainable, systemic solutions?

This webcast is the first in a Brookings-Yidan Prize event series on the future of education in the 21st century. Together, we are exploring timely topics in education likely to have deep implications for decades to come. 

Viewers can submit questions via email to events@brookings.edu or via Twitter at #BrookingsYidanPrize.

This event is cross-posted on the Brookings Institution website. Sign up to watch the webcast.

Program
9:30–9:35am — Welcome
  • Rebecca Winthrop, Director and Senior Fellow, Center for Universal Education, Brookings Institution
9:35–10:30am — Moderated discussion
  • Moderator: Maysa Jalbout, Non-resident Fellow, Center for Universal Education, Brookings Institution
  • David Edwards, General Secretary, Education International
  • Viktoriia Gnap, Co-Founder and President, Unbreakable Ukraine Foundation
  • Zarlasht Halaimzai, Founder and CEO, Amna (formerly Refugee Trauma Initiative)
  • Erum Mariam, Executive Director, BRAC Institute of Educational Development