卡迈勒·艾哈迈德先生

亚洲女子大学(AUW)创办人

专业领域

教育平等

受惠地区

亚洲

注力新兴女性领袖网络

教育是抵御压迫和不平等的最好办法。它可以帮助缩小不同环境与不同人群之间的严重不对称。通过周详的实践,教育能使人从传统的行为及思想循环中解放,旷阔视野,开拓追求自由之路。世界所面对的困境在很大程度上源于对教育和学习权利的剥夺。我们需要一场新的复兴以促进学习——不仅要通过学校、学院和大学,同时要让社会更广泛地接受集体和个人对学习的追求与反思。大多时候,我们单单把教育视为一种工具。毫无疑问,教育会提高一个人的经济生产力;然而,任何不能提高个人探索真理能力的教育,都遗憾地未能实现其最根本的使命。

在接下来的几年里,我希望开始在亚洲女子大学创建一所新的教育学院,支持和装备年轻女性团体建立她们的女子中学。我认为中学教育是南方世界将面临的另一重大挑战我也希望能够借鉴亚洲女子大学的经验,创建一所新的非洲女子大学。我很高兴能成为一丹奖明师堂的一员,并期待着向世界各地的合作伙伴学习和合作。

— 卡迈勒·艾哈迈德先生

卡迈勒·艾哈迈德(Kamal Ahmad)先生是亚洲女子大学的创办人。该大学坐落于孟加拉国的吉大港市,是一所区域性文理大学,主要面向亚洲与中东地区不同社会经济背景的女性,致力于发展女性教育、提升女性领导力,是第一所此类型的大学。

创办亚洲女子大学时,艾哈迈德先生率先采取了一些非传统的教育方法,包括招收区域中最弱势、最落后地区的女性。艾哈迈德先生将 “勇气、嫉恶如仇、同理心” 作为辨别领导潜力的重要指标,为大学在新生中选拔人才指明了方向。截至2020年,亚洲女子大学吸引了18个国家的学生,女校友中产生了约1000名区域新兴女性领导人,建立起一个全新网络。

艾哈迈德先生在达喀尔度过少年时代。自那时起,艾哈迈德先生便为贫困儿童(多为帮佣)开办非正式学校。他与国际资金合作发起的 “青少年扫盲计划” 或许是孟加拉国第一个儿童非正式教育领域的非政府项目。

艾哈迈德先生在哈佛大学读大一时,创办了全国校园组织联盟,旨在促进学生参与国际发展。为此,他获得《时代周刊》的“大学成就奖”。2002年,他被世界经济论坛评选为“全球未来领袖”。他的母校菲利普斯埃克塞特中学授予他校友最高荣誉“约翰·菲利普斯奖”。

成就

改革孟加拉国的学术治理体系

亚洲女子大学创立于2008年,彻底改变了孟加拉国的学术治理体系。在孟加拉国,尽管政府是发展教育的主体,但也保留了院校自治与学术自由,并通过这一高等教育框架,培养发展中国家的女性领导者和变革者。

除了采取免试入学,亚洲女子大学还招收来自最被忽视社区的女性,并在偏远地区(如难民营)举办入学考试,发掘最有才华的学生。亚洲女子大学以「勇气、同理心、嫉恶如仇」为指标评估学生的能力。被录取的学生享有全额奖学金。

亚洲女子大学新创了一种经济资助模式,将家庭条件较好的学生缴纳的学费用于补助贫困学生。目前,85%的在校生享有奖学金补助。

与区内主流的职业教育相比,亚洲女子大学提供文理课程,为世界培养未来的社会、政治和商业领袖。

目前为止,亚洲女子大学共有超过1000名毕业生。

艾哈迈德先生目前正在探索如何根据创建亚洲女子大学的经验,创建一所非洲女子大学。

Yidan Prize 2021 nominations now open until 31 March 2021

Follow this link for details of the nomination process.

Mr Kamal Ahmad

Founder, Asian University for Women (AUW)

Expertise

Equality in education

Focus by region

Asia

Empowering a brand-new network of rising women leaders

“Education is the best defense against oppression and inequality.  It can help narrow the great asymmetries between some states and other states and one group of people and another.   When thoughtfully conducted, it stands to liberate minds from the cycle of inherited practices  and open new vistas for acquiring freedom.  A big part of the predicament of the world springs from a denial of the right to education and learning.  We need a new renaissance in promoting learning — not only through schools, colleges and universities but also by opening our societies more widely to collective and individual effort and reflection.  Too often education is only viewed in instrumental terms.  No doubt certain education will enhance one’s capacity to become more economically productive; however, any education that does not enhance a person’s ability to search for truth ruefully fails in its most cardinal mission.

In the coming years, I hope to begin work on creating a new school of education at the Asian University for Women that will support and equip groups of young women to establish their own secondary schools for girls.  I think of secondary education as the next great challenge facing the Global South.  I am also hoping that we can bring the experience of the Asian University for Women in creating a new African University for Women.  I am excited to be a part of the Yidan initiative and look forward to learning from and collaborating with partners from all over the world.  ”

Mr Kamal Ahmad

Mr Kamal Ahmad is the Founder of the Asian University for Women (AUW).  Located in Chittagong, Bangladesh, AUW is the first of its kind—a regional liberal arts university dedicated to the education and leadership development of women drawn from diverse socio-economic backgrounds from across Asia and the Middle East. 

In founding AUW, Mr Ahmad pioneered a number of unconventional approaches to education, including targeted recruitment of women from some of the region’s most oppressed and underserved communities. Kamal developed the triad of “Courage, Outrage at Injustice, and Empathy” as key indicators of leadership potential, which has informed the University’s search for talent among incoming students. As of 2020, AUW draws students from 18 countries and has spurred a new network of almost one thousand rising women leaders from across the region in its alumnae.

In his young teenage years growing up in Dhaka, Mr Ahmad started a series of informal schools for underprivileged children working as domestic help. The Juvenile Literacy Programme that he started with international funding was possibly the first non-governmental initiative in the area of informal education for children in Bangladesh.  

As a freshman at Harvard College, Mr Ahmad founded a nationwide consortium of campus organizations aimed at engaging students in international development, for which he received a Time Magazine college achievement award. He was also chosen by the World Economic Forum as a Global Leader for Tomorrow in 2002. Phillips Exeter Academy, his alma mater, gave him the John Phillips Award, the highest honor accorded by the Academy to an alumnus.

Achievements

Revolutionizing the academic governance system in Bangladesh

Founded in 2008, AUW revolutionizes the academic governance system in Bangladesh where the government serves as an enabler but at the same time, sustaining full institutional autonomy and academic freedom – a higher education framework for cultivating female leaders and changemakers in developing countries. 

In addition to open admissions, AUW reaches women from the most neglected communities and identifies the most talented through admission tests in remote areas, such as refugee camps. Students are evaluated for their capacity for courage, empathy & outrage at injustice; successful applicants are supported with a full scholarship.

AUW has instituted a financial model that the tuition paid by students with more resources will cross-subsidize the tuition of those without. 85% of current students receive scholarship support.

Contrasting the vocational education provided mainly in the region, AUW employs a liberal arts & sciences program to cultivate the future social, political & business leaders of the world.

AUW has produced over 1,000 graduates so far.

Kamal is currently exploring options for creating an African University for Women based on the experience and lessons learnt from the Asian University for Women.