薩勒曼·可汗先生

可汗學院創始人兼首席執行官

專業領域

終身學習系統,全民讀寫,師範教育,婦女及女童教育,教育科技

受惠地區

亞洲, 北美洲, 南美洲, 歐洲

「一眾明師堂成員代表了一系列獨特的才華和觀點。他們具有塑造教育領域的潛力。通過合作,將有很多機會共同設計和試驗新的方法。」

— 薩勒曼·可汗先生

薩勒曼·可汗(Salman Khan)先生(更廣為人知的名字是Sal)在自己的臥室裡啟動了一個接觸了世界各地數百萬學習者的項目。當初他為幫助表弟提高數學成績而製作的視頻啟發了一個免費並達世界級的在線學習平台。

可汗先生擁有三個麻省理工學院的學位和一個哈佛大學的MBA學位。他以「翻轉課堂(Flipping the Classroom)」等嶄新想法而聞名。他的想法更啟發了其他大規模在線公開課(MOOC)的創始人。另一位明師堂成員、一丹獎得獎者Anant Agarwal教授在談到一流的在線教學時,更給他的視頻起了一個專用名詞——KSV,為Khan風格視頻(Khan Style Video)的縮寫。

2014年,可汗先生在美國加利福尼亞州山景城創立了非營利性的可汗實驗室學校(Khan Lab School),以展示他設計的另類教育模式如何能應用於面授學習。學校課程以“掌握學習”原則為基礎:學生不按年齡分組,而是根據對學科的掌握程度進行學習及遞進 — 而不是學校的時間表。

作為唯一一位登上《福布斯》封面的非營利性領導人,可汗先生的教學理念牢牢地把學生放在中心位置:創造一種讓他們能按照自己的方式和節奏學習的環境。

成就

利用技術轉變傳統的師生關係

可汗學院創立於2008年,作爲非營利機構,旨在透過綫上工具,免費提供世界一流的課程,使大衆無論身處何處均可接受教育。迄今爲止,學院在全球擁有逾7300萬註冊用戶,教育資源被翻譯成超過36種語言。

可汗學院製作視頻形式的簡短課程,涵蓋不同學科與程度。可汗先生認為,學生應能自主掌握學習進度,這是可汗學院的一大特點。

可汗學院還向家長和老師提供免費工具,更好地指導孩子的學習。對許多學生而言,可汗學院就像一個世界級的輔導老師,帶來他們的家庭無法負擔的優質教育。

許多高質素的學習效果研究表明,可汗學院不僅擁有驚人的學生數量,亦能顯著提高學生的學習成績。

可汗先生希望逐步重建教育系統,改善學習效果,為學生和老師創造更加人性化的教育體驗。

可汗先生的著作《可汗學院的教育奇跡》(The One World Schoolhouse)被所有新學校的創始人視為未來學校教育的藍圖。他被《時代周刊》評為「全世界100位最具影響力的人物」。

Yidan Prize 2021 nominations now open until 31 March 2021

Follow this link for details of the nomination process.

Mr Salman Khan

Founder and CEO, Khan Academy

Expertise

Lifelong Learning System, Literacy for All, Teachers, Women and Girls education, ICT in Education

Focus by region

Asia, Europe, North America, South America

Pioneer of using technology to humanize education

“The luminaries represent a unique range of talent and perspectives. They have the potential to shape the field of education. There are many opportunities to devise and experiment with new approaches by working together. ”

Mr Salman Khan

Salman Khan – better known as Sal – reaches millions of learners around the world with a project he started in his bedroom. The videos he made to help his cousin improve in math have inspired a free, world-class online learning platform.

Mr Khan holds three degrees from MIT, and an MBA from Harvard. He’s known for big ideas like ‘Flipping the Classroom’, which have inspired other founders of massive open online courses (MOOCs). Fellow luminary and Yidan Prize laureate Professor Anant Agarwal even coined the acronym KSV – for ‘Khan Style Video’ – when talking about best-in-class online teaching.

In 2014, Mr Khan founded the not-for-profit Khan Lab School in Mountain View, California, to demonstrate how his alternative model of education works for face-to-face learning. The school’s curriculum is based on his principle of ‘Mastery Learning’: students learn in mixed-age groups, and move on from one topic to the next based on their grasp of it – not the timetable of the school.

The only non-profit leader to feature on the cover of Forbes, Mr Khan’s philosophy of teaching and learning keeps students firmly at the center: creating an environment to let them learn on their terms, and at their pace.

Achievements

Employing technology to dissolve the conventional model between students and teachers

Founded in 2008, Khan Academy is a non-profit organization with a mission of providing free, world-class education for anyone, anywhere through a set of online tools. To date, it has over 73 million registered users from all over the world. Resources have been translated to over 36 languages.

The Academy produces short lessons in the form of videos across a wide range of subjects and grades. Mr Khan believes that students should learn at their own pace – an important feature of Khan Academy.

The Academy also provides free tools for parents and teachers to better coach their children. For many students, Khan Academy acts as the world-class tutor that their family could not otherwise afford. 

There are multiple, high quality efficacy studies that have shown that not only does Khan Academy have surprising reach, but it also is extremely effective at improving student outcomes. 

Mr Khan aspires to re-architect the very nature of the education system over time, in a way that drives better outcomes and humanizes the experience for students and teachers alike.

Mr Khan’s book The One World Schoolhouse was considered by new school founders as the blueprint for what the future of schooling should become. He was recognized as one of TIME’s 100 Most Influential People in the World.