托馬斯·凱恩教授

哈佛大學教育研究生院沃爾特·H·蓋爾教育與經濟學教授

專業領域

有效教學,中小學教育政策,院校資助,慈善於教育創新中的角色

受惠地區

北美洲

塑造教育政策的未來

「儘管許多國家政府將教育改革視為『最重要的國内政策挑戰』,但令人訝異的是,刺激和支持教育創新的國際行動極爲罕見。這或許是許多國家教育改革進程緩慢的原因之一!一丹獎明師堂能為未來的教育改革提供藍圖,在世界範圍内推動教育創新的試行與檢驗。」

— 托馬斯·凱恩教授

 

托馬斯·凱恩(Thomas Kane)教授不僅是經濟學家,亦是哈佛大學教育研究生院沃爾特·H·蓋爾教育學教授。他創辦了教育政策研究中心並擔任教務主任。研究中心依托哈佛大學,與學區和州政府機構展開合作,解決緊迫的教育政策問題。

他的研究對許多教育政策的制定產生了深刻影響,包括學校問責制設計、特許學校、教師評價、大學經濟資助、大學錄取、補習和專上學生的就業表現。

在2009年至2013年,凱恩教授領導了比爾及梅琳達·蓋茨基金會的「有效教學措施」項目。3000名來自不同城市的教師參與項目,促進了美國和國際教育政策改革與研究。1995-1996年,他作為資深經濟學家,在克林頓總統經濟顧問委員會中對勞動力、教育及福利政策問題提供意見。1991-2000年,他於肯尼迪政府學院從事教學工作。此外,凱恩教授也是加州大學洛杉磯分校的公共政策教授,布魯金斯學會和斯坦福大學胡佛研究所的訪問學者。

成就

促使教育從業者參與研究過程

凱恩教授的主要研究興趣在於:影響學校重新規劃、教師效能以及發展專上教育。

他專門研究教育政策,特別是促使教育從業者(學校和教師)參與研究過程,將研究融入實踐。

在2009年至2013年,凱恩教授領導了比爾及梅琳達·蓋茨基金會的「有效教學措施」(MET)項目。根據數十年以來的研究,我們知道有些教師比其他教師更有效率。而研究的目標一直是要分辨出最有效率的教師是如何實踐教學的。該項目通過收集3000名教師的課堂教學視頻,嘗試理解教師​​影響力以及公認的有效教學實踐之間的關係,比如教師如何在課堂上提問以及教師如何管理學生行為等。

項目的研究結果整合了兩類完全不同的研究文獻證據:教學實踐和學生成績,改變了人們對教學的總體認識。項目表明,我們可以根據教師過往的教學指導和結果,發掘教學效能更高的教師。

「有效教學措施」項目的另一成果是:根據經驗確定了一套通用詞匯,描述過去所沒有的有效教學實踐,從而影響了學校認定及獎勵有效教學的方式。目前,美國、墨西哥、秘魯、厄瓜多爾、智利、阿根廷、巴西和約旦等國正在推進此等改革。

「有效教學措施」項目推動了視頻在教師發展與評估中的應用;經合組織(OECD)等機構已採取這種方式進行研究與數據採集。項目還為後續研究奠定了基礎:250名研究者已獲准使用保存於密歇根大學的項目數據庫和視頻資料庫。

凱恩教授的工作將繼續影響一系列教育政策的制定,包括學校問責制設計、特許學校、教師評價、大學經濟資助、大學錄取、補習和社區大學。

Yidan Prize 2021 nominations now open until 31 March 2021

Follow this link for details of the nomination process.

Professor Thomas Kane

Walter H. Gale Professor of Education, Harvard Graduate School of Education

Expertise

Effective teaching, Elementary and secondary education policy, Financial aid for college, The role of philanthropy in educational innovation

Focus by region

North America

Shaping the future of education policy

“Given the number of national governments describing education as their ‘most important domestic policy challenge,’ it is striking that there are so few international efforts to stimulate and support innovation in education. Perhaps that is one reason for the slow pace of progress many nations have seen! The Yidan Council could draw up a blueprint for future efforts to pilot and test educational innovation internationally.”

— Professor Thomas Kane

 

Professor Thomas Kane is an economist and Walter H. Gale Professor of Education at the Harvard Graduate School of Education. He is founder and faculty director of the Center for Education Policy Research, a university-wide research center that works with school districts and state agencies on pressing education policy issues.

His research has influenced policymaking on a number of education policy topics, including the design of school accountability systems, charter schools, teacher evaluation, financial aid for college, college admissions, remediation and labor market outcomes for post secondary students.

Between 2009 and 2013, he directed the Measures of Effective Teaching project for the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. Involving 3000 teachers in multiple cities, the project has inspired policy reforms and research in the U.S. and internationally. From 1995 to 1996, he served as the senior economist for labor, education, and welfare policy issues within President William Clinton’s Council of Economic Advisers. From 1991 through 2000, he was a faculty member at the Kennedy School of Government. Kane has also been a professor of public policy at UCLA and has held visiting fellowships at the Brookings Institution and the Hoover Institution at Stanford University.

Achievements

Involving practitioners at the root of research

Professor Kane is committed to helping governments test their ideas for improving education.   As with pharmaceuticals, the way students learn is just too complex to anticipate every obstacle and unintended side effect.  In any country, the pace of progress will be driven by its ability to identify the small subset of reform ideas that actually work as the experts hope.

Between 2009 and 2013, Professor Kane directed the Measures of Effective Teaching (MET) project for the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.  For decades, research has shown that some teachers are more effective than others.  The problem has always been identifying the teaching practices that the most effective teachers are using.  By collecting video in 3000 teachers’ classrooms, the project sought to build a bridge between the research on teachers’ impacts and hypotheses about effective teaching practices, such as how teachers ask questions in class, how teachers manage behavior, etc.

The MET project has laid the foundation for an empirically grounded, common vocabulary for effective teaching practice.  The findings have inspired reforms to the way teachers are developed and rewarded in the United States, as well as in many other countries, such as Mexico, Peru, Ecuador, Chile, Argentina, Brazil, and Jordan.  Video is increasingly used as a tool for providing feedback to teachers, who benefit from watching their students’ reactions to their own teaching.

Inspired by the MET project, the OECD has launched an effort to collect video on teaching practices within and across countries and to link those practices to achievement gains in different classrooms.

Professor Kane’s work continues to influence policy-making across a wide range of topics, including the design of school accountability systems, charter schools, teacher evaluation, financial aid for college, college admissions, remediation and community colleges.