2021年度一丹獎提名現已開放

點擊此鏈接了解提名流程。

Vicky Colbert女士

新學校基金會(FEN)創始人兼總監

獎項類別

一丹教育發展獎

年份

2017

專業領域

高質教育,教育平等,學習方法,終身學習,教學與學習,情感教育

受惠地區

北美洲, 南美洲, 非洲

在全世界建立全新的教育模式

Vicky Colbert女士是新學校基金會(FEN)的創始人兼總監。Colbert女士是來自哥倫比亞Javeriana大學的社會學家,曾在美國斯坦福大學攻讀教育社會學和國際教育比較學碩士學位,於2015年獲得尼日利亞美國大學(American University of Nigeria)授予的名譽哲學博士學位。Colbert女士是享譽全球的新學校(Escuela Nueva)模式的聯合發起人,並擔任首位國家協調員。

她曾擔任哥倫比亞教育部副部長、聯合國兒童基金會拉美及加勒比海地區教育顧問。在任上,她發起、擴大並持續推動教育創新,之後成立非政府組織新學校基金會,致力於推進其工作並確保質素、可持續性和創新性。

在領導力及社會企業領域,她獲得諸多獎項,如斯克爾社會企業獎(Skoll Award for Social Entrepreneurship)、2013年WISE教育獎(WISE Prize for Education)、克林頓全球公民獎(Clinton Global Citizenship Award)以及克拉維斯獎(Kravis Prize)。她也被施瓦布基金會(Schwab Foundation)、阿育王基金會(Ashoka)和世界技術網路(World Technology Network)等機構評為傑出社會企業家。

 

在領導力及社會企業領域,她獲得諸多獎項,如斯克爾社會企業獎(Skoll Award for Social Entrepreneurship)、2013年WISE教育獎(WISE Prize for Education)、克林頓全球公民獎(Clinton Global Citizenship Award)以及克拉維斯獎(Kravis Prize)。她也被施瓦布基金會(Schwab Foundation)、阿育王基金會(Ashoka)和世界技術網路(World Technology Network)等機構評為傑出社會企業家。

教育創新項目

推動實施新學校教育模式

向農村兒童提供獲得優質教育的平等機會

Vicky Colbert女士將一丹獎獎金用於推動新學校基金會的戰略發展,重點包括兩個項目:在哥倫比亞推行新學校教育模式並提供配套資金支持;為內部研發項目設計具體活動。

關於此項目
「 FEN的教育模式擅長開發學生的智力和社交情緒能力,證明了一個令人鼓舞的事實:全面的進步主義教育並非發達經濟體的學生才可享有的特權。」
贊辭

Dorothy K. Gordon女士致辭

一丹教育發展獎評審小組主席

過去40多年來,Vicky Colbert女士在三大洲16個國家的農村學校成功推動了以學生為中心的創新學習模式,讓資源最匱乏地區的學生也能具備21世紀的技能。

這一循證式創新模式名叫 Escuela Nueva,即「新學校」,採取系統性方法,通過對話與互動來促進學習。這一模式能適應當地需求,鼓勵學生按照自身進度主動學習,並利用參與和合作,促進同學之間的相互指導,使孩子們有機會學習如何學習。此外,靈活的促進機制有助於營造開放、互助的環境,加强學校與社區的關係。

過去數十年來,無論在哥倫比亞還是在國際上,「新學校」均持續影響公共政策,不斷改善教育制度。「新學校」強調創新、評估和持續改進,為社會提供了經過檢驗的全新教育模式,鼓勵孩子們融洽相處,共同成長。事實證明,這一通用體系成效顯著,能超越國家、文化、政治和經濟的邊界,造福於偏遠地區的學生。

Colbert女士的努力表明,即使在最惡劣的環境下,也能提供具有成本效益的優質學校教育,評審小組對此由衷讚歎。FEN的教育模式擅長開發學生的智力和社交情緒能力,證明了一個令人鼓舞的事實:全面的進步主義教育並非發達經濟體的學生才可享有的特權。

如今,全球迅速城市化,超過半數的人口居住在城市中。從整體上看,人類極需一種能讓弱勢社群享有且可負擔的優質教育,幫助世界各地無數務工青年建立必要的知識基礎,從而改善和維持自身生計。

Colbert女士的影響力遠不止於農村社區中的學校教育。1987年,她參與創立新學校基金會。該基金會被評為全球最佳非政府組織之一,旨在維護新學校模式的質素與完整,並能在農村和城市的各種環境下推廣複製其教育生態系統,確保學習過程不僅貼合實際需求,而且能令學生自信自立。

在此,我恭賀Colbert女士,她畢生的工作取得了非凡的成就。如今她獲頒一丹獎,我期待看到她的工作惠及世界各地的孩子。我謹代表評審小組,期望Colbert女士及其同事的不懈努力能繼續取得成功,使每位孩子均能受惠於全面、優質的教育。

Ms Vicky Colbert

Founder and Director, Fundación Escuela Nueva (FEN)

Prize

Yidan Prize for Education Development

Year

2017

Expertise

Quality education, Equality in education, Learning methods, Lifelong education, Teaching and learning, Social and emotional education

Focus by region

Africa, North America, South America

Establishing a new model of education worldwide

Ms Vicky Colbert is founder and director of Fundación Escuela Nueva. Ms Colbert is a Sociologist from Javeriana University in Colombia. She pursued her graduate studies in Sociology of Education and Comparative International Education at Stanford University in the USA. In 2015, the American University of Nigeria distinguished her with an Honoris Causa Doctorate in Philosophy. Colbert is co-author of the worldwide renowned Escuela Nueva model and was its first National Coordinator.

She has pioneered, expanded and sustained educational innovation from many organizational spheres: as Vice minister of Education of Colombia, UNICEF ́s Education Adviser for LAC and now from Fundación Escuela Nueva (FEN), an NGO she founded to ensure its quality, sustainability and innovation.

 

 

She has been recognized with several awards and distinctions in the fields of leadership and social entrepreneurship, such as the Skoll Award for Social Entrepreneurship, 2013 WISE Prize for Education Laureate, the Clinton Global Citizenship Award and the Kravis Prize. She has also been recognized as Outstanding Social Entrepreneur by the Schwab Foundation, Ashoka and the World Technology Network.

Initiatives

Fueling the implementation of the Escuela Nueva education model

Equal opportunities for quality education for rural children

The Yidan Prize funds are used by Ms Vicky Colbert to support the strategic developments of Fundación Escuela Nueva (FEN), focusing on two main initiatives including providing matching funds to implement the Escuela Nueva education model in Colombia, and developing specific activities for internal Research & Development initiatives.

Learn more about this initiative
“The FEN model excels in developing both intellectual and social-emotional capacities of its students – an inspiring testament to the fact that well-rounded progressive education is not a privilege reserved for students in developed economies.”
Citation

By Ms Dorothy K. Gordon

Panel Head, Judging Panel for Education Development, Yidan Prize

Over the past 40 years, Ms Vicky Colbert has developed and successfully promoted, across 16 countries in 3 continents, an innovative learner-centered approach to rural schools that equips students from the most resource-constrained regions with 21st century skills.

The transformative, evidence-based Escuela Nueva model – meaning New School in English – is a systemic approach that promotes learning through dialogue and interaction. It allows for active, self-paced learning that is adapted to local needs. Through a participatory and collaborative approach that allows for cross-peer tutoring, children are given the opportunity to learn to learn; while a flexible promotion mechanism engenders an open, supportive environment that strengthens the relationship between schools and the community.

Escuela Nueva has been influencing public policy and improving education structures for decades in Colombia and internationally. With an emphasis on innovation, evaluation and continuous improvement, Escuela Nueva presents a tested, yet novel educational model that facilitates our children to grow together harmoniously. It is a universal system that has the proven track record of transcending national, cultural, political and economic boundaries to benefit hard-to-reach students.

The judging panel is thoroughly impressed by how Ms Colbert’s work demonstrates that high quality schooling can be cost-effective in the harshest environments. Her model excels in developing both intellectual and social-emotional capacities of its students – an inspiring testament to the fact that well-rounded progressive education is not a privilege reserved for students in developed economies.

At a time when rapid urbanization sees more than half of the world’s population living in cities, humanity collectively is in dire need of high quality education that is accessible and affordable to struggling communities, building the necessary foundation for improved and sustainable livelihoods for countless migrant youth in search for employment across the world.

And yet, the impact of Ms Colbert’s work goes far beyond formal schooling in rural communities. In 1987, she co-founded Fundación Escuela Nueva (FEN), selected as one of the best NGOs in the world, to preserve the quality and integrity of the Escuela Nueva model, and to replicate its ecosystem of life-empowering, contextual learning experience across both rural and urban areas in a wide range of settings.

I’d like to take this opportunity to congratulate Ms Vicky Colbert again for her life’s work and tremendous achievement. I look forward to learning how her footprints can spread to the benefit of children worldwide with the award of the Yidan Prize. On behalf of the judging panel I wish her and her colleagues continued success in their dedicated work to give every child the opportunity to benefit from holistic quality education.