卡尔·威曼教授

斯坦福大学物理学教授和教育学院教授

Prize

一丹教育研究奖

Year

2020

Expertise

专业知识评估,专上科学,理工科(STEM)教育

Focus by region

全球

以创新方法改变STEM教育模式

自2013年起,卡尔·威曼(Carl Wieman)教授兼任斯坦福大学物理学教授和教育学院教授。此前,他曾在加拿大英属哥伦比亚大学和科罗拉多大学博尔德分校任职20年。

他在原子物理学和科学及工程教育均进行了广泛的研究,获奖无数。他于2001年获得诺贝尔物理学奖,于2004年获得卡耐基基金会美国大学教授年奖(the Carnegie Foundation Professor of the Year award)。

他在科罗拉多大学和加拿大英属哥伦比亚大学成立及策划了“科学教育计划”,该计划倡导基于科学研究改进教学的理念对许多大学教学有广泛的影响,彻底地改变了在大学本科科学的教学方法。他的著作《改善大学科学教育:科学教育计划经验谈》(Improving How Universities Teach Science; Lessons from the Science Education Initiative)反映了他在STEM教育改革方面的努力。

他曾担任美国国家科学院 (National Academy of Sciences) 科学教育委员会 Board of Science Education)的创会主席,也是科罗拉多大学博尔德分校PhET互动式仿真程序的创办人。PhET是一个线上互动科学模型平台,每年用于学习科学的频率达2亿次。他于 2010年到2012年出任美国白宫科学技术政策办公室 (科学) 副总监。

目前,他致力研究科学、工程和医学专业知识及问题解决方案,以及如何更好地衡量与教授这些知识。他还研究并撰写有关高等教育的教学模式以及如何对其进行定义和开发新的知识。

Initiatives

全球PhET:全民的STEM教育

扩大PhET线上互动科学模型平台的国际影响力,增加大众能够接受高水平科学教育的机会

此项目将解决世界各国面临的巨大挑战:让下一代参与科学、科技、工程和数学(STEM)教育。 它建基于并扩展了卡尔·威曼教授和科罗拉多大学的PhET线上互动科学模型平台,旨在创造一个开放的探索性环境,以激发学生的好奇心,让他们参与科学探究和发现,并发展他们的科学实践和思维方式。

关于此项目
"在我认识的人当中,沒有一個人能比卡尔·威曼教授更能代表教育的变革和改進,坚定不移地持续创新以及通过教育研究寻求更有效的学习方法。"
Citation

Andreas Schleicher先生致辞

一丹教育研究奖评审小组主席

祝贺卡尔·威曼(Carl Wieman)教授获得2020年度一丹教育研究奖。

陈一丹博士的愿景是透过教育创造一个更美好的世界,而一丹奖的使命就是通过肯定创变者的工作来改变世界。在我认识的人当中,沒有一個人能比威曼教授更能代表教育的变革和改進,坚定不移地持续创新以及通过教育研究寻求更有效的学习方法。

每当想到威曼教授,你会想到诺贝尔物理学奖得主。他首次实现了玻色-爱因斯坦凝聚态。但在过去的二十年来,他把热情都投放在教育里。目前,他是斯坦福大学教育学院內一位受人尊敬的学者,他不仅能够高瞻远瞩地研究科学的教学方法,更能有效地说服他人接纳自己的理念并让其发扬光大。

你知道,每个孩子都热爱科学; 科学是关于了解大自然,关于比较和对比,探索新事物及测试想法,找出连带关系和理清起因与結果。但随着年龄的增长,人们对科学的热爱减退,将自然科学视为一个充满公式和方程式的抽象世界, 跟他们的生活和梦想毫无关系。这在很大程度上是归咎於我们的学习和教授科学的方式。我们在课室里接触到的科学,通常只有宽度,却没有深度,很快被记下來,然后遗忘, 就像跟我们周围的现实世界无关。我们在学校和大学里虽然学到很多事实和数据,但我们经常忘记要用科学家的思维去思考,去建立假设,去设计实验或去区分究竟有哪些问题可以作科学分析调查。

威曼教授试图着根治这个问题,他带来的不仅对教授科学的热忱 – 有许多其他人也是满怀热诚的,而他是坚持用严谨的科学方法来理解和改善科学教育。许多人都认为教育是一门艺术,有才华和热忱的教育人士,每天都付出巨大的努力来教育我们的孩子并建立我们的未来。但是,良好的教育需要的还不止这些。它也得益于科学探索,测试新的提问和想法,让我们发现所追寻的结果到底有怎样的成因。这正是威曼教授的工作格外精妙之处。他利用科学来了解人们如何认识科学,然后建立了一套实证基础, 加上强大的技术支持,以帮助教育人士摆脱他们的老师们都一直沿用的教学方式转为根据科学研究引导我们该怎样教授科学。

他不是在象牙塔中为自己做事。反之,他激励了周围的科学家和教育人士共同协作,并落实学生应该怎样学习;以科学的方法去衡量学生们的学习进度,调整教学方法和技巧以改善学习成果,并采用实际可行的方法。

威曼教授亦明白到,要改革教育,我们需要搭建在研究、实践和公共政策之间的有效桥梁。在美国,他曾担任美国国家科学院科学教育委员会的创会主席。他曾为美国总统奥巴马担任科学技术政策办公室科学部副总监, 提供有关STEM教育研究和美国教育计划的建议。 他亦曾经与许多国家政府机构合作,包括美国国家科学基金会,美国国立卫生研究院和美国教育部。

特別重要的是,威曼教授深入思考了如何通过以创新科技為基础的模拟技朮,使基于科学的教学都有更好的扩展空间,而他反复与学生进行了多次科学实验,以完善这些技术。在这疫情流行的时代,数码资源已成为教育的生命线,威曼教授的工作为我们提供了一个榜样,说明我们不仅可以使用科技来保存传统教学,而且可以改造传统教学。

当然,在科学教育上, 模拟学习课程并不是先进理念,有很多例子,学生可以设置一些框架,使某些场景能活現出來。但这只是在盒子里思考,而不是跳出框框,打破固有思維 ,这是在复制我们已知的东西,而不是凭借我们已知的东西去推断,并将其应用于新的情况上威曼教授的模拟程式着重于在互动环境中的主动学习,学生可以从中通过探索和发现进行学习,在科学与现实世界之间建立联系,并以科学家的角度寻求因果关系。他严谨的科学模拟程式代表了一种基本的新教学工具,可以伸延至那些没有机会接触实体实验室的学习者使用。他们还在世界各地催生了各种的教学研究,找出最有效利用这种资源的方法。实际上,这项工作不仅具可扩展性,你还可以看到威曼教授这项工作的规模,他的模拟程式被下载了5亿次之多,并被翻译成85种语言。

让我补充一下,威曼教授的教育研究不仅重要,而且在这个特殊的时期更加至为关键。在这几个月的疫情中,我们所有人都感受到科学和大自然的强大力量。那些对科学并无太深入认知, 或会优先考虑意识形态或政治信念的人,或有可能为此付出代价。面对大自然的力量,你不能用花言巧语去劝说她,更不能扭曲她。大自然始终遵循科学原理,因此我们更应该帮助人们理解这些原理。种建基于教育科学基础的优质科学教育,将惠及个人、各种经济体和不同国家,并实现其希望和理想。它将改善及挽救许多生命,是社会为其人民和未来应该作出的重大投资之一。威曼教授为我们提供了强大有力的工具来付诸实行。

Yidan Prize 2021 nominations now open

Follow this link for details of the nomination process.

Professor Carl Wieman

Professor of Physics and Graduate School of Education and DRC Chair at Stanford University

Prize

Yidan Prize for Education Research

Year

2020

Expertise

Acquisition and assessment of expertise, Post-secondary science, technology, and mathematics (STEM) education

Focus by region

Global

Pioneering new pedagogies in STEM education

Professor Carl Wieman has held a joint appointment as Professor of Physics and of the Graduate School of Education at Stanford University since 2013, and before that was at University of British Columbia and University of Colorado for 20 years.

He has done extensive experimental research in both atomic physics and science and engineering education at the university level and has received numerous awards for both, including the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2001 and the Carnegie Foundation Professor of the Year award for education in 2004.

Professor Wieman directed the Science Education Initiatives at the Universities of Colorado and British Columbia, leading to widespread research-based improvement in university teaching, and transforming the way science is taught in major universities. His book, “Improving How Universities Teach Science; Lessons from the Science Education Initiative”, reflects his efforts in changing STEM education.

Professor Wieman served as founding chair of the Board of Science Education of the National Academy of Sciences and was the founder of PhET, which provides online interactive simulations that are used 200 million times per year to learn science. He served as Associate Director for Science in the Office of Science and Technology Policy in the White House from 2010-12.

He is currently studying expertise and problem solving in science, engineering, and medicine, and how this can be better measured and taught. He has also studied and written on expertise in teaching in higher education and how it can be defined, measured, and developed.

“I don’t know of anyone who stands more for change and transformation in education, for innovation, and for a commitment to advance learning through education research, than Carl Wieman.”
Citation

By Mr Andreas Schleicher

Panel Head, Judging Panel for Education Research, Yidan Prize

My congratulations to Professor Carl Wieman on the 2020 Yidan Prize for Educational Research.

The vision of Dr Charles CHEN Yidan is to create a better world through education, and the mission of the Yidan Prize is to change the world by acknowledging the changemakers. I don’t know of anyone who stands more for change and transformation in education, for innovation, and for a commitment to advance learning through education research, than Carl Wieman.

When you think of Carl Wieman, you think of the Nobel Prize winner in physics who made the predictions of Bose and Einstein visible and tangible. But for the past two decades, his passion has been with education. Currently at the Graduate School of Education at Stanford University, he’s a highly respected scholar who has not just been visionary in his research approach to science education, but also impactful in spreading and scaling his ideas.

You know, every child loves science; it’s about understanding nature, about comparing and contrasting, trying things out and testing ideas, figuring out relationships and cause and effect. But as people grow older, many turn away from this early love, considering the natural sciences to be an abstract world of formulas and equations that is unrelated to their lives and dreams. And a lot of that has to do with how we learn and teach science. What we learn in school science is often a mile wide but just an inch deep, quickly memorized and then forgotten, and unrelated to the real world around us. And amidst all the facts and figures that we learn in school and at university, we too often lose the idea of what it means to think like a scientist, to build an hypothesis, to design an experiment, or to distinguish questions that are scientifically investigable from those that are not.

Carl Wieman has sought to fundamentally change that, not just by bringing real passion to science teaching – lots of other people do that too – but also by bringing a rigorous scientific approach to the understanding and improvement of science education. Many of us consider education an art, with talented and passionate educators making tremendous efforts each day to teach our children and build our future. But good education requires more than that. It too benefits from scientific exploration, testing novel questions and ideas, and discovering what produces the outcomes we seek. And that additional extra is exactly what Carl Wieman’s work is about. He’s used science to understand how people learn science, and then built both an evidence base and powerful techniques that help educators shift away from teaching the way that they were taught, towards how scientific research teaches us to teach science.

He has not just been doing that in an ivory tower for himself. Instead, he is inspiring scientists and educators around him to collaboratively establish what students should learn; to scientifically measure what students are actually learning, to adapt instructional methods and technology to improve learning outcomes, and to adopt what actually works.

Wieman also understands that to transform education, we need effective bridges between research, practice and public policy. In the United States, he served as the Founding Chair of the Board on Science Education at the National Academy of Sciences. He advised US President Obama as Associate Director of Science at the Office of Science and Technology Policy on STEM education research and the country’s education initiatives. And he worked with many national governmental agencies including the National Science Foundation, the National Institutes of Health, and the Department of Education.

Not least, Wieman has thought deeply about ways to make science-based teaching and learning scalable through innovative technology-based simulations, and he has used repeated rounds of scientific experimentation with students to perfect these techniques. In the times of a pandemic which has made digital resources the lifeline for education, the work of Carl Wieman sets an example for how we can use technology not just to conserve traditional teaching, but to transform it.

Of course, the idea of simulations isn’t new to science education, there are plenty of examples where students can set some parameters and then animate some scenario. But that’s about thinking inside the box, not outside the box, about reproducing what we know, not about extrapolating from what we know and applying our knowledge in novel situations. Wieman’s simulations focus on active learning in interactive environments in which students learn through exploration and discovery, build connections between science and the real world, and discover cause and effect relationships the way that scientists do. His scientifically rigorous simulations represent a fundamentally new pedagogical tool for reaching learners who do not have access to physical laboratories. They have also spawned many lines of pedagogical research on how to best use such resources, from all around the globe. And in fact, this work isn’t just scalable, you can actually see the scale of Wieman’s work with half a billion downloads of his simulations and translations into 85 languages.

Let me add that Wieman’s education research is not just important, it is crucial at this particular moment of time. During these months of the pandemic, we’ve all felt the powerful forces of science and mother nature. Those who remained ignorant of science or gave precedence to comfortable beliefs, ideology or politics have paid a steep price for that. You cannot sweet-talk mother nature, and you cannot spin her. Mother nature always follows the principles of science, so we better help people understand these. An excellent education in science, building itself on a foundation of the education sciences, will serve the hopes and aspirations of individuals, economies and nations. It will improve and save many lives and is one of the great investments a society can make in its people and its future. Carl Wieman gives us powerful tools for doing that well.