2021年度一丹獎提名現已開放

點擊此鏈接了解提名流程。

Fazle Hasan Abed KCMG爵士

孟加拉國非政府組織「跨社區資源建設組織」(BRAC)創辦人兼榮譽主席

獎項類別

一丹教育發展獎

年份

2019

專業領域

教育平等,全民讀寫,工作和生活技能,婦女及女童教育,可持續發展教育

受惠地區

亞洲, 非洲

點亮快樂——全人教育的基礎

Fazle Hasan Abed KCMG爵士(1936年4月—2019年12月)是非政府組織「跨社區資源建設組織」(BRAC)的創辦人兼榮譽主席。有鑒於該織的創新、影響力及治理,BRAC於2019年連續第四年被日內瓦的NGO Advisor評為全球第一非政府組織。BRAC成立於1972年,項目遍及亞洲與非洲11個國家,主要目的為減少貧困,注力貧困人群。

 

Fazle爵士視教育為變⾰的重要催化劑。他堅信教育不僅關乎學校和書本。基於遊戲的快樂學習(play based joyful learning)是BRAC教學方法的基⽯。BRAC已在孟加拉國、坦桑尼亞和烏⼲達等地建⽴了1400多所基於遊戲的兒童早期發展中心,⽬前有近4萬名1-5歲兒童在這裡學習。在這些中⼼,學齡前兒童可以獲取適齡的遊戲材料、參與基於遊戲的課程,使⽤有助於其全⾯發展的遊戲空間。

由於在領導BRAC方面的突出成就,Fazle爵士榮膺多個國家及國際獎項。2009年,英國女王授予他聖米迦勒及聖喬治爵士勛章,表彰他對於減輕孟加拉國及其他國家的貧困方面的貢獻。

教育創新項目

制定高影響力且可推廣的兒童早期發展(ECD)方案

進一步推廣BRAC的基於遊戲的早期兒童發展項目

Fazle Hasan Abed KCMG爵士將一丹獎獎金用於探索更多兒童早期發展的可能性,致力於在教育資源匱乏的地區引進技術,向家長提供支持,並且培訓兒童早期教育課程中的遊戲領導者。

關於此項目
「BRAC的遊戲實驗室項目表明,即便最貧窮、最弱勢的兒童也能享有優質且可負擔的早期兒童教育。」
贊辭

Dorothy Gordon女士致辭

一丹教育發展獎評審小組主席

BRAC的遊戲實驗室項目表明,即便最貧窮、最弱勢的兒童也能享有優質且可負擔的早期兒童教育。許多證據表明遊戲對學習的重要性,對全球兒童產生巨大影響。遊戲促進兒童的認知與社交情緒的發展:兒童的記憶力和語言技能得到提高;也能更好地管理自身行為。對於生活在危險環境中的兒童而言,研究也表明,遊戲對提高他們的抗壓能力和建立正常生活的感覺至關重要。

由BRAC的創辦人兼榮譽主席Fazle Hasan Abed KCMG爵士帶領的團隊基於這些科學發現並根據BRAC數十年的經驗,推出創新方法,推行以社區為主導的教育創新,注力貧困人群。

項目徹底改變了邊緣兒童的學習方式。社區內的年輕女性(多來自BRAC女童注力俱樂部)接受遊戲教學法的培訓,之後擔任早期兒童發展課程中的遊戲領導者,對每組30個孩子進行遊戲教學,每天3小時,每週5天。父母及其他社區成員幫忙利用當地資源製作玩具、佈置可用的遊戲空間(經特別設計,鼓勵孩子參與遊戲)。社區成員委員會對每個遊戲實驗室進行監督。

目前,在孟加拉國、坦桑尼亞和烏干達三國,共開設了1800個遊戲實驗室。此外,項目還開設了人道主義遊戲實驗室,滿足無家可歸的孩子的需求。這些孩子可能遭受過創傷,如孟加拉國羅興亞難民營裡的孩子。

遊戲實驗室可持續發展的三大要素包括:合作促進擴展、成本回收及社會企業模式、嚴格的組織管治。合作夥伴關係也是游戲實驗室產生變革性影響的關鍵。遊戲實驗室提供可靠證據,表明在教育資源匱乏的環境中早期兒童發展的有效性,影響多邊組織和國家政府等早期兒童發展的主要利益相關者。在影響監測中,則綜合利用國際評估工具和項目自主開發的工具。「游戲聯盟」是由全國及全球早期兒童發展專家組成的網絡,支持這種嚴格的監測及評估程序。這一流程的結果將更有助於整理和分享最佳實踐。

據估計,全球2.5億兒童將面臨教育風險,他們所處的環境無法提供早期兒童發展。未來可能將有7500萬名兒童流離失所。游戲實驗室和人道主義游戲實驗室的努力表明,我們能為最缺乏教育資源的1-5歲兒童提供優質、低成本的基於游戲的教育,並為這些兒童創造更好的未來。

本年度得獎者——BRAC的創辦人兼榮譽主席Fazle Hasan Abed KCMG爵士和劍橋大學認知發展神經科學教授及教育神經科學中心總監Usha Goswami教授——均關注早期教育,能夠分享想法,發揮協同效應。我很期待他們的交流,並相信他們能通過一丹獎建立聯係,交流思想,迸發創見。

Sir Fazle Hasan Abed KCMG

Founder and Chair Emeritus, BRAC

Prize

Yidan Prize for Education Development

Year

2019

Expertise

Equality in education, Literacy For All, Skills for Work and Life, Women and Girls Education, Education for Sustainable Development

Focus by region

Africa, Asia

Shining the light on joyfulness, the keystone to holistic education

Sir Fazle Hasan Abed KCMG (April 1936 – December 2019) was the Founder and Chair Emeritus of BRAC, ranked by Geneva-based ‘NGO Advisor’ as the number one NGO in the world in 2019 for the fourth consecutive year based on its innovation, impact and governance. Established in 1972, and operating across 11 countries in Africa and Asia, BRAC’s primary objectives are alleviating poverty and empowering the poor.

 


Sir Fazle always viewed education as a crucial catalyst for change. He firmly believed that it is about more than just schools and books. Play based joyful learning is a cornerstone of BRAC’s approach. BRAC has set up more than 1,400 play-based early childhood development centres across Bangladesh, Tanzania and Uganda, where close to 40,000 children aged 1 to 5 years are presently enrolled. In these centres, pre-school children have access to age-appropriate play materials, a play-based curriculum, and play spaces that ensure their holistic development.

Sir Fazle was honoured with numerous national and international awards for his achievements in leading BRAC. In 2009, Sir Fazle was appointed Knight Commander of the Order of St Michael and St George by the British Crown in recognition of his services to reducing poverty in Bangladesh and internationally.

Initiatives

Creating high impact and scalable early childhood development (ECD) solutions

Expanding upon BRAC’s work of implementing play-based early childhood development programs

Sir Fazle Hasan Abed KCMG applies award funds to explore the possibilities of integrating technology in low resource settings, offering support to parents, and training to play leaders.

Learn more about this initiative
“BRAC’s Play Lab projects demonstrate that the poorest and most vulnerable children can have access to quality and affordable Early Childhood Education.“
Citation

By Ms Dorothy Gordon

Panel Head, Judging Panel for Education Development, Yidan Prize

BRAC’s Play Lab projects demonstrate that the poorest and most vulnerable children can have access to quality and affordable Early Childhood Education. The emerging evidence on the importance of play on learning has tremendous implications for children globally. Play boosts cognitive and socio-emotional development as memory and language skills are improved and children are better able to manage their behaviour. For children in crisis settings research shows that play is key to promoting resilience and establishing a sense of normalcy.

The team at BRAC led by its Founder and Chair Emeritus Sir Fazle Hasan Abed KCMG has taken these scientific findings and implemented an innovative approach that builds on BRAC’s decades of experience in empowering the poor through implementation of community-led innovation in education.

This project revolutionizes how marginalized children learn. Young women drawn from the community, often from BRAC’s girls empowerment clubs, are trained in play-based pedagogy. They act as play leaders engaging groups of 30 children for 3 hours a day, 5 days a week. Parents and other community members help create toys from locally available resources and help decorate the accessible physical space which has been specially designed to encourage play. Each play lab is overseen by a committee of community members.

There are 1800 Play Labs in the three countries of implementation – Bangladesh, Tanzania and Uganda. Another dimension of the project, the Humanitarian Play Labs is adapted to the needs of displaced children who may have experienced trauma as is the case in the Rohingya Camps in Bangladesh.

The Play Lab uses 3 pillars to achieve sustainability: partnerships for scale; cost recovery and social enterprise models; and strong organizational governance. Partnerships are also key to its transformative impact as it works to influence major ECD stakeholders including multi-laterals and national governments by generating a rigorous evidence base that demonstrates the effectiveness of Early Childhood Development in low resource contexts. Impact monitoring makes use of international assessment tools in combination with tools developed in the context of the project. The Play Consortium, a network of national and global experts in the field of ECD supports this rigorous monitoring and evaluation programme. The results from this process will make it easier to collate and share best practice.

There are an estimated 250 million children who will be at risk because their local context does not provide for ECD. A further 75 million children are facing displacement. The work of Play Labs and Humanitarian Play Labs demonstrates that we can build high quality, low cost play-based learning for young children between 1-5 years old in the most low resource settings. It demonstrates that these children can have a better future through education.

This year’s laureates, Sir Fazle Hasan Abed KCMG, the Founder and Chair Emeritus of BRAC and Professor Usha Goswami, Professor of Cognitive Developmental Neuroscience and Director of the Centre for Neuroscience in Education at the University of Cambridge share a remarkable synergy in that they are both focused on the early years of education. I am looking forward to their exchanges and trust that they will find synergy and cross-fertilization of ideas through their association with the Yidan Prize.