2021年度一丹獎提名現已開放

點擊此鏈接了解提名流程。

Anant Agarwal教授

edX的創辦人兼首席執行官

獎項類別

一丹教育發展獎

年份

2018

專業領域

可負擔教育,教育平等,教育科技,學習方法,終身學習,職業教育

受惠地區

全球

線上學習改變世界

Anant Agarwal教授是edX的創辦人兼首席執行官。edX是由哈佛大學和麻省理工學院共同創建的線上學習資源平台。

edX平台旨在向全球學習者提供廣泛的優質教育資源。學習者無論其地理位置、經濟狀況、學歷背景、性別、種族及其他人口特征,均可享有這些教育資源。

2012年,Agarwal教授的第一堂edX電路與電子課程吸引了來自162個國家的15.5萬名學生。截至他接受本獎項為止,edX已向逾2500萬人提供了140多所頂尖大學的3000多門線上課程。

 

成就斐然

Agarwal教授成就斐然。他是吉尼斯世界紀錄最大麥克風陣列的保持者,也是教科書《模擬電路和數字電路基礎 》(Foundations of Analog and Digital Electronic Circuits)的作者。

2011年,他的有機計算工作被《科學美國人》雜誌選為改變世界的十大想法之一。2012年,他入選《福布斯》15大教育創新者榜單。

Agarwal教授是計算機體系結構的先驅,還是美國國家工程院院士、美國人文與科學院院士,美國計算機協會會員。

Agarwal教授還在業餘時間為線上電路實驗室WebSim提供解決方案。

Agarwal教授擁有斯坦福大學博士學位和印度理工學院馬德拉斯分校學士學位。

教育創新項目

一丹獎輔助edX平台發展

在線教育項目促進事業發展

Anant Agarwal教授利用一丹獎獎金,創建edX微學士項目。 項目為人們提供一系列一流高校的本科課程,旨在提供一條通往當今頂尖工作的途徑。

微學士課程的本科課程針對具體職業,提供全面學習課程。具業界領導地位的僱主認為,這些課程十分貼近真實工作。此外,這些課程還有助於學習者進一步獲得完整的碩士學位。

關於此項目
「 簡而言之,要實現陳一丹先生改善全球教育、普及教育資源的夢想,edX項目是目前為止最好的選擇。」
贊辭

Dorothy K. Gordon女士致辭

一丹教育發展獎評審小組主席

Anant Agarwal教授是edX的創辦人兼首席執行官,利用自身的技術能力和學者的經驗,創辦了edX這一出色的分佈式開放學習平台,並在全世界範圍內得到廣泛使用。Agarwal教授與麻省理工大學和哈佛大學合作創辦edX,致力於打造一個開放、包容和全球化的在線學習平台。

edX與196個國家的130多所頂尖院校合作,向1500多萬名學習者提供約2000門免費課程。據估計,全世界還有更多學習者獨立使用該平台並從中獲益。edX平台還為教育研究者提供可靠的數據資料,持續推動在線學習的發展。從Agarwal教授對未來的展望中,我們可以清楚地了解到,edX項目僅是一個開始。

Agarwal教授在edX平台創辦日的演講中提到,他的夢想是透過平台為十億人提供教育資源,帶來主流教育模式之外的另一個重要選擇。edX平台為全世界難以獲得傳統教育資源的潛在學習者提供了無數新機會。

簡而言之,要實現陳一丹先生關於改善全球教育、普及教育資源的夢想,edX項目是目前為止最好的選擇。edX項目讓人們能夠自主選擇學習內容、學習時間、學習地點和學習方式。

Professor Anant Agarwal

Founder and CEO, edX

Prize

Yidan Prize for Education Development

Year

2018

Expertise

Affordable education, Equality in education, Education technology, Learning methods, Lifelong education, Vocational education

Focus by region

Global

Changing the world with online learning

Professor Anant Agarwal is the Founder and CEO of edX, the online learning destination founded by Harvard and MIT.

The edX platform aims to provide access to high quality education at scale, to learners around the world, regardless of geographic location, financial resources, prior academic qualifications, gender, race or other demographics. 

Professor Agarwal taught the first edX course in 2012. Covering circuits and electronics, it drew 155,000 students from 162 countries. At the time he accepted the award edX had already delivered over 3,000 online courses from more than 140 leading institutions to over 25 million people.

 

Making his mark

The accomplished Professor Agarwal even held a Guinness World Record for the largest microphone array, and is an author of the textbook Foundations of Analog and Digital Electronic Circuits.

Scientific American selected his work on organic computing as one of 10 World-Changing Ideas in 2011. He was named in Forbes’ list of top 15 education innovators in 2012. 

A pioneer in computer architecture, Professor Agarwal is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a fellow of the ACM.

Professor Agarwal also hacks on WebSim, an online circuits laboratory, in his spare time. 

Professor Agarwal holds a PhD from Stanford and a bachelor’s from IIT Madras.

Initiatives

Yidan Prize helps edX to grow

Programs offer online paths to career advancement

Professor Anant Agarwal is applying funds from the award to help create edX MicroBachelors programs. 

Designed to be a pathway to today’s top jobs, edX MicroBachelors programs offer a series of graduate level courses from leading universities. 

The programs provide comprehensive learning in a specific career field. Industry-leading employers recognize the courses for their real job relevance. The courses pave the way to a full master’s degree.

Learn more about edX MicroBachelors
“In short, it’s hard to think of a better project to help realise Charles’ dream of improving and making education more accessible across the world.”
Citation

By Ms Dorothy Gordon

Panel Head, Judging Panel for Education Development, Yidan Prize

Professor Anant Agarwal, Founder and CEO of edX, has drawn on his technical skills and his experience as an academic to support the creation of this exceptional, decentralised open learning platform that is already being used extensively around the world. A platform that he helped to create in partnership with MIT and Harvard University and which is designed to be open, inclusive and global.

EdX offers around 2,000 free courses from its official partners in more than 130 leading institutions in 196 countries to over 15 million global learners. In addition it is estimated that an even greater number of learners benefit from the independent use of the open platform all over the world. Edx also provides educational researchers with a robust data package that promotes consistent improvements in online learning. And when listening to Professor Agarwal speak about his vision for the future, it’s clear he is only just getting started.

In his speech on the day edX was launched, Professor Agarwal stated his dream to educate one billion people by using the platform to provide a vital alternative to mainstream models of education, EdX opens up countless new opportunities for potential learners around the world who would otherwise struggle to access traditional sources of education.

In short, it’s hard to think of a better project to help realise Charles’ dream of improving and making education more accessible across the world. EdX succeeds empowering people to choose what they learn, when they learn, where they learn and how they learn.