卡罗尔·德韦克教授

斯坦福大学刘易斯及维珍尼亚·伊顿心理学教授

奖项类别

一丹教育研究奖

年份

2017

专业领域

教育心理学,教育政策,包容与平等,对文化敏感的教育,课堂文化,青少年发展,理工科教育

受惠地区

北美洲

心态学习领域的先驱研究者

卡罗尔·德韦克(Carol Dweck)教授是学习动机领域的全球领先研究者之一,现任斯坦福大学刘易斯及维珍尼亚·伊顿心理学教授。

她的研究发现,在如何看待自身才能方面,学生拥有不同的心态。一些学生为固定型心态,认为才能无法改变。另一些学生则具有成长型心态,认为才能可以培养。

德韦克教授的研究表明,不同的心态会对学生(尤其对弱势学生群体)的学习动机、抗挫折能力和学习成就产生重要影响。此外,她的研究还证明了如何改变心态以及改变所带来的影响,尤其是在教育工作者相互支持和合作的情况下。

 

 硕果累累的研究者

德韦克教授曾入选美国人文与科学院(American Academy of Arts and Sciences)及美国国家科学院(National Academy of Sciences of the United States),并因其研究成果荣获超过十项终身成就奖。

除科研论文之外,她还写作了大量供教育工作者和公众阅读的文章。她的著作《Mindset》(Random House出版)已被翻译成25种语言。

教育创新项目

增进教育经验

持续发展注重文化共融成長型心态教室

2016年至2019年,德韦克教授的团队开办了9个教师培训机构。以Stepahnie Fryberg教授和Mary Murphy教授为首的团队向教育工作者传授如何创造注重文化共融成長型心态教室(CIGM),其后追踪这些老师,测试老师培训对学生学业和情绪的影响。在测试结果中获得的知识将构成未来在线模块的基础,团队将于未来就这些模块进行严格的测试。

CIGM课堂的两大核心信念为:不同文化背景的学生均会以及能够做出重要的贡献;凭借学生坚持不懈的付出、有效的策略,以及老师同学善解人意的支持,所有学生均能提升個人能力。

关于此项目
教育创新项目

了解心态对未来教育的长期影响

该计划为发展更坚实的心态理论提供指导,并就如何改善针对性的心态干预提供见解。

了解有关学习心态的全国性研究
”德韦克教授展示了人类共同的潜力,并提供了一套经验证的智识提升之道,使我们能适应一个超出预想的未来世界。“
赞辞

朱经武教授致辞

前一丹教育研究奖评审小组主席

卡罗尔·德韦克(Carol Dweck)教授是一位杰出的心理学家,数十年来潜心研究智力的本质,取得了非凡的学术成就,而唯一能超越她以往成就的便是她原创的学习介入模式,该模式具备可扩展性,并能显著改善学习成果。

我们对智力的基本信念会影响学习动机,这一发现改变了我们对学生能力以及大脑的持续发展潜力的看法。德韦克教授发现了两种能深刻影响我们生命的心态,即如今已广为人知的“固定型心态”和“成长型心态”。德韦克教授的研究表明,假若我们相信智力可以塑造和改变,便可大大改善学生的表现。现在我们知道,学生对自身潜力的潜在信念会深刻影响其努力程度,尤其在遇到困难时。此外,关注学生的努力与学习过程能培养学生对学习的热爱,而这是取得巨大成就不可或缺的要素。

在德韦克教授的研究中,值得注意之处在于运用科学论证来解释和预测行为,并且在不同的学校与工作情景中采用切实可行的心态介入方法时,能达到一致的验证效果。

35多年来,她始终秉持严谨的科学作风,坚持科学质量,实在令人钦佩。藉着颁发一丹奖,我们希望可以在全球提升并实行“成长型心态”介入意识。我们希望能在各阶层的学校中扩大“成长型心态“介入的应用与实践,使全球各地的教育工作者都能采用合适的方法,促进年轻一代的成长,培养他们的自信和毅力。

评审小组认为,德韦克教授的研究具有巨大的生产性潜力,应用范围远不止于学校环境。社会经济范式日新月异,“教育”的定义也会随之改变,成长型心态提供了一个可以企及的目标,激励人们学习新技能,从而在数字化、自动化的世界中取得成功。德韦克教授展示了人类共同的潜力,并提供了一套经验证的智识提升之道,使我们能适应一个超出预想的未来世界。

Yidan Prize 2021 nominations now open until 31 March 2021

Follow this link for details of the nomination process.

Professor Carol S. Dweck

Lewis and Virginia Eaton Professor of Psychology, Stanford University

Prize

Yidan Prize for Education Research

Year

2017

Expertise

Educational psychology, Education policy, Inclusion and equality in education, Culture-sensitive education, Classroom cultures, Adolescent development, STEM education

Focus by region

North America

The pioneer of mindset learning

The Lewis and Virginia Eaton Professor of Psychology at Stanford, Professor Carol S. Dweck is one of the world’s leading researchers in the field of motivation. 

Her research has identified various mindsets that students can hold about their talents and abilities. 

Some students have a fixed mindset in which they see their talents and abilities as unalterable. 

Others hold a growth mindset in which they are seen as qualities that can be developed. 

Professor Dweck’s research demonstrates the importance of these mindsets for students’ motivation, resilience, and achievement. Her work demonstrates how these mindsets can be changed and the impact of that change, particularly in contexts where educators are supportive and collaborative.

 

 

An accomplished researcher

Professor Dweck has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences of the United States.

She has won more than 10 lifetime achievement awards for her research.

In addition to her scientific writing, she has written widely for educators and for the public. Her book Mindset (Random House) has been translated into over 25 languages.

Initiatives

Enhancing educational experiences

Continuing the development of culturally inclusive growth mindset classrooms

Between 2016 and 2019, Professor Carol S. Dweck’s team, in a project led by Professors Stephanie Fryberg and Mary Murphy, conducted nine teacher training institutes in which they taught educators how to create culturally inclusive growth mindset classrooms. They then followed these teachers and tested the effects of the institutes on students’ academic and socio-emotional outcomes. This knowledge will form the basis of future online modules, which will be rigorously tested in the future.

The two core beliefs of these classrooms are that students from all backgrounds can and will make important contributions, and that all students can grow their abilities through effective effort, good strategies, and sensitive support from teachers and peers.

Learn more about CIGM classrooms
Initiatives

Understanding the long-term impact of mindsets on educational futures

The initiative guides the development of a stronger theory about mindsets while giving insights on how to better target mindset interventions.

Learn about the National Study of Learning Mindsets
“Professor Dweck has shown humanity our shared potential and a proven methodology for growing intellectually and adapting to a future that we have yet to envisage.”
Citation

By Professor Paul Chu Ching-wu

Former Panel Head, Judging Panel for Education Research, Yidan Prize

Professor Carol S. Dweck is a distinguished psychologist whose stellar academic success in her decades of research on the nature of intelligence is surpassed only by the original and scalable interventions she developed with remarkable improvements in learning outcomes.

The discovery of how underlying beliefs about intelligence affect learning motivation has transformed the way we understand students’ abilities and the continuous developmental potential of our brains. By distinguishing what have now become widely known as the two mindsets that shape our lives – the “fixed mindset” and the “growth mindset” – Professor Dweck demonstrated that our belief in the malleability of intelligence can dramatically improve students’ performance. We now know that a student’s implicit beliefs about their potential have profound implications for how hard they work, especially in the face of challenge, and that a focus on effort and process cultivates a love for learning that is essential for great accomplishments.

What is remarkable about Professor Dweck’s work is the scientifically demonstrable ability to explain and predict behavior, and the consistently validated results of pragmatic mindset interventions in different school and work settings. 

Her commitment to scientific rigor and quality for over 35 years is impressive and humbling. With the award of the Yidan Prize, we hope to contribute to raising awareness and implementation of the “growth mindset” intervention across the world, expanding its application and implementation in schools across demographic strata, and enabling educators everywhere to adopt methods that nurture growth, confidence and resilience in our younger generations.

The judging panel sees the generative potential of Professor Dweck’s work extending far beyond students in formal schooling.  As the definition of education morphs along with the fast-changing socio-economic paradigm, the “growth-mindset” offers an achievable aspiration for all of us to develop new skillsets that are fundamental to thriving in the digitalized, automated world. Professor Dweck has shown humanity our shared potential and a proven methodology for growing intellectually and adapting to a future that we have yet to envisage.