2021年度一丹獎提名現已開放

點擊此鏈接了解提名流程。

Larry Hedges教授

美國西北大學統計學系主任

獎項類別

一丹教育研究獎

年份

2018

專業領域

教育統計與評估,國際比較教育學,教育政策,教育體系,教育平等,教育心理學

受惠地區

北美洲

以科學方法改善下一代的教育

Larry Hedges教授任芝加哥西北大學統計學系主任,統計學、教育及社會政策、心理學及醫學社會學教授理事會成員,政策研究所研究員,2018年一丹教育研究獎得獎者。

Larry Hedges教授是世界上最有影響力的應用統計學家之一。他在教育政策方面的研究,令政策制訂者、教育工作者及公眾能通過切實的證據,了解到「怎樣的教育才是有效的」,並推動以科學方法改善下一代的教育。

Larry Hedges教授曾獨自撰寫或與人合著了十本著作和大量學術期刊文章,其中包括開創性的《整合分析統計法》(與I. Olkin,Elsevier合著,1985)和《研究綜述與元分析手冊》(與H. Cooper和J. Valentine,Russell Sage合著,2009)。

 


他獲選為美國國家教育學院成員,也是美國藝術與科學學院、美國統計協會、美國心理協會和美國教育研究協會的會員。同時,他還是教育效果研究協會的成員,協會以Hedges教授的名譽設立了年度捐贈講席。2016年,他被選為Hedges講席開幕演講者。他由美國總統巴拉克·歐巴馬(Barack Obama)提名為國家教育科學委員會董事會成員,於2012年6月獲美國參議院確認當選,並於2016年當選為董事會主席。

他被美國統計協會芝加哥分會選為2013–2014年度「年度統計學家」。2018年,他成為第三位當選歐洲方法學協會名譽會員的美國人。

教育創新項目

關注循證式教育決策

推動教育研究綜合領域的最佳實踐

在一丹獎獎金的支持下,循證式政策和實踐統計中心(STEPP)於2019年成立,旨在促進統計學家、研究者、決策者和從業者之間的合作。

中心注重利用證據來指導教育和應用社會科學領域內的決策。

關於此項目
「他的研究工作極具價值,展現了廣泛的適用性、可複製性和可擴展性,能夠應用於世界上任何地方,通過循證方法來改善教育,滿足未來的教育需求。」
贊辭

Andreas Schleicher先生致辭

一丹教育研究獎評審小組主席

我很高興向各位介紹Larry Hedges教授。他的工作使全球的研究者都能運用循證方法來改善教育,用事實取代政治偏見和個人偏見,在政策討論中發揮重要作用。

Hedges教授是芝加哥西北大學統計學系主任,或許是當今世界最傑出應用統計學家之一。他發展了適用於社會學、醫學和生物學領域的元分析統計方法,並找到了整合多種研究成果的創新方法。

統計學或許無法令每個人都興致盎然,但卻具有開拓性的意義。目前,人人都認為教育改革勢在必行,但在如何推進改革這個問題上卻衆説紛紜。Hedges教授的工作使人們能夠基於科學證據來進行教育改革,並在討論問題時排除意識形態和主觀性的影響。

此外,Hedges教授還在培養專業研究者方面做出突出貢獻。在關於統計研究設計、實施和分析的訓練中,他廣泛使用其獨特的科學研究方法,並鼓舞下一代教育研究者。

他的研究工作極具價值,展現了廣泛的適用性、可複製性和可擴展性,能夠應用於世界上任何地方,通過循證方法來改善教育,滿足未來的教育需求。

在此,我再次祝賀Hedges教授以及所有一丹獎提名者。他們從事的工作意義非凡。我也相信,未來將會有更加豐富的成果。

Yidan Prize 2021 nominations now open until 31 March 2021

Follow this link for details of the nomination process.
Join our nomination webinar on 9 February to learn everything you need to know abut making a nomination.

Professor Larry Hedges

Chairman of the Department of Statistics, Northwestern University

Prize

Yidan Prize for Education Research

Year

2018

Expertise

Education statistics and evaluation, International comparative education, Education policy, Education system, Equality in education, Education psychology

Focus by region

North America

Improving future generations of education through a scientific approach

Professor Larry Hedges, Chairman of the Department of Statistics, Board of Trustees Professor of Statistics; Education and Social Policy; Psychology; and Medical Social Sciences, and Faculty Fellow of the Institute for Policy Research at Northwestern University in Chicago is the Yidan Prize for Education Research Laureate 2018.

Professor Hedges is one of the most influential applied statisticians in the world. His work in educational policy allows policymakers, educators and the general public to see the evidence for “what works” in the field of education, and makes it possible to take a scientific approach to improving education for future generations.

Professor Hedges has authored or co-authored ten books and numerous journal articles, including the seminal Statistical Methods for Meta-Analysis (with I. Olkin, Elsevier, 1985) and The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis (with H. Cooper and J. Valentine, Russell Sage, 2009).

 


He is an elected member of the National Academy of Education and is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Statistical Association, the American Psychological Association, and the American Educational Research Association. He is also a member of the Society for Research on Educational Effectiveness, which established an annual endowed lecture in his honor. In 2016, he was selected to give the inaugural Hedges Lecture. Professor Hedges was nominated by President Barack Obama to the Board of Directors of the National Board for Education Sciences, was confirmed by the U.S. Senate in June 2012, and was elected Chair of the Board in 2016.

The Chicago chapter of the American Statistical Association elected him as “Statistician of the Year” for 2013–14. In 2018, he became the third American to be elected an Honorary Member of the European Association of Methodology.  

Initiatives

Highlighting evidence based decision making in education

Promoting Best Practices in the Synthesis in Educational Research

With the Yidan Prize funds, The Statistics for Evidence-Based Policy and Practice (STEPP) Center was founded in 2019 to facilitate collaboration between statisticians, researchers, policymakers and practitioners.

The organisation focuses on using evidence to guide decisions, especially in education and applied social sciences.

Learn more about this initiative
“His work is particularly valuable in that it is widely applicable, replicable and scalable. It can be adopted anywhere in the world to bring this evidence-based approach to improving education to meet future needs.”
Citation

By Mr Andreas Schleicher

Panel Head, Judging Panel for Education Research, Yidan Prize

It is my pleasure to introduce Professor Larry Hedges, whose work enables researchers around the world to take an evidence-based approach to improving education, allowing facts to replace political and personal bias in policy debates.

Professor Hedges, Chairman of the Department of Statistics at Northwestern University in Chicago, is perhaps one of the most accomplished applied statisticians in the world. He has developed statistical methods for meta-analysis in social, medical and biological sciences and has found innovative ways of synthesizing research findings across studies.

While statistics may not sound exciting to everyone, this work is truly ground-breaking. Everyone agrees that changes in education are needed, but there is no agreement on how these changes should be made. Professor Hedges’ work allows for changes in education to be based on scientific evidence, taking ideology and subjectivity out of the debate.

Moreover, Professor Hedges’ commitment to training research professionals is truly remarkable. By providing training on designing, conducting and analysing statistical research, he is helping ensure the spread of his unique science-based approach, inspiring the future generations of educational researchers.

Professor Hedges’ work is particularly valuable in that it is widely applicable, replicable and scalable. It can be adopted anywhere in the world to bring this evidence-based approach to improving education to meet future needs.

I would like to once again congratulate Professor Hedges and all the other Yidan Prize nominees on the tremendously important work they’re carrying out. And I am certain that the best is yet to come.