鲁克米尼·班纳吉博士

布拉罕教育基金会首席执行官

奖项类别

一丹教育发展奖

年份

2021

专业领域

教育公平;全民扫盲;政策和研究;教育和社会;学习效果监测;教育水平评估和衡量;打造合作关系

受惠地区

亚洲, 非洲

“让每个孩子“能上学,上好学”

班纳吉博士毕生致力于探究学生学习效果的鸿沟,并弥合这一差距。班纳吉博士早年在印度、英国、美国完成经济学学位后,于1996年加入了一家印度非政府组织——即布拉罕教育基金会,推动布拉罕的教育项目以及与政府的大规模合作。在带领布拉罕进行研究及教育评估工作长达10年后,班纳吉博士于2015年成为布拉罕教育基金会的首席执行官。

 

 

2005年,班纳吉博士及其团队首先推出ASER(Annual Status of Education Report,即“教育状况年度报告”)评估方法。ASER每年进行一次,深入印度家庭,倾听每户受访家庭提供的反馈,在100多天的时间里对60万名农村地区儿童的学习状况进行评估。ASER的调查结果显示:即使入学多年,许多儿童仍未掌握阅读或基础算术技能。自ASER在2005年推出之后,位于南亚、撒哈拉以南的非洲及拉丁美洲的15个国家的当地组织都推出类似的评估活动,当中包括肯尼亚、墨西哥、巴基斯坦等。

为了应对学习危机,布拉罕教育基金会随即与印度超半数的邦政府合作,推出TaRL项目(Teaching at the Right Level,即“适当水平的教学“)。根据TaRL,教师对学生学习水平进行评估,并根据学习水平而非所在年级,对学生进行分组,然后借助适宜课堂活动及课堂材料,帮助学生流利地读、写,提高他们的理解能力,实现学习进步。布拉罕也有类似举措提高学生的数学水平。虽然每间学校、每个社区都可以采用TaRL,但班纳吉博士强调与政府的大规模合作更可能带来学生学习水平的飞跃。如今,不仅是印度,许多南亚及撒哈拉以南的非洲国家的学校和教育系统都采用了TaRL项目,并将其因地制宜。

布拉罕教育基金会也在儿童早期教育领域积极采取措施,专门帮助3-6岁的儿童掌握所需技能,为他们未来入学做好准备。

2008年,班纳吉博士被印度比哈尔邦授予首届“毛拉纳·阿布·卡拉姆(Maulana Abul Kalam) 教育奖”,该奖项授予对比哈尔邦教育做出重大贡献的人士,班纳吉博士是该奖项的首届得奖者。

“班纳吉博士和布拉罕教育基金会拥有明确的使命──让每个孩子‘能上学,上好学’。这提醒着我们不仅要让教育之门向每个人打开,更要将教育质量的重要性铭记于心。为实现这一目标,布拉罕教育基金会所采取的措施大大改善了学生的学习效果,既具成本效益,又极具推广性,带来教育创新突破。”
赞辞

多萝西·戈登女士

一丹教育发展奖评审小组主席

教育创新突破

首先,我向鲁克米尼·班纳吉博士及布拉罕教育基金会表示衷心的祝贺。

鲁克米尼·班纳吉博士是2021年一丹教育发展奖得奖者。她也是印度布拉罕教育基金会的领导者。布拉罕教育基金会的使命是“让每个孩子能上学,上好学”。这提醒我们不仅要将教育质量的重要性铭记于心,更要让教育之门向每个人打开。为实现这一目标,布拉罕教育基金会所采取的措施,大大改善了学生的学习效果,既具成本效益,又在全球范围内极具推广性,带来教育创新突破。

研究显示:50%以上的学龄儿童并未获得所受教育程度相应的基本读写、算术技能,使他们难以获得学习深造带来的益处,也不利于他们未来的就业。这一结构性缺陷是教育面临的巨大挑战之一,无形中削弱儿童对自我潜能的信心,对他们的人生造成长远不利影响。这一现象在资源匮乏的国家及农村地区更为常见,新冠疫情则进一步加深了学习鸿沟。学习监测全球联盟使用“学习贫困”一词来描述10岁儿童未能获得应有的读写技能这一现象,并用该词衡量学习鸿沟的严重程度。据估计,如果不采取补救措施,数亿名儿童的学习现状会因为新冠疫情导致的“学习贫困”而进一步恶化。雪上加霜的是,我们没有衡量上述现象严重程度的参考数据,在撒哈拉以南的非洲,超半数的学龄儿童的学习状况没有数据作为参考。

2005年起,布拉罕教育基金会发展出一套以社区为中心的方法,收集印度农村地区儿童入学以及基本学习成果的一手信息,作为采取实际行动的依据。这套方法叫做ASER ASER(Annual Status of Education Report,即“教育状况年度报告”),ASER是针对小学的学习评估项目,每两年进行一次。数万名志愿者到访印度每个邦中的不同区的家庭,记录在不同的区、邦、乃至国家层面中,3-16岁的儿童的学习状况。在这一项目中,家长参与的重要性不言而喻,也让人们意识到在收集、分析学习数据时,谁的观点最为重要。一些受访的父母本身教育程度不高,却有机会为自己的孩子争取适合的教育方式。

ASER的早期调查结果让布拉罕教育基金会更加了解印度教育问题的实质,让他们得以设计更精确的研究及实验方式,以找到解决方法——TaRL(Teaching at the Right Level,即“适当水平的教学“)。TaRL直接针对儿童难以获得基础技能的原因。布拉罕团队解释道:“这种方法根据学习需求,而非年龄或年级,把3-5年级的孩子分为若干组,专门教授他们某项技能,而非某项课程;定期评估学生表现,而非仅仅依赖期末考试的结果。” 在使用TaRL的过程中,TaRL自身也在不断改进。布拉罕团队也会精心设计随机试验,监测教学及学习工具的实际作用。证据显示:TaRL在不断改善学生学习结果。

随着全球越来越多地方采用ASER和TaRL,并因地制宜,班纳吉博士杰出的管理及学术研究能力功不可没。她和她的团队的果断、创造力展现出了建设性批判,以及以实证为基础的决策的价值。这些都是我们需要谨记的宝贵经验,尤其是在我们解决教育新旧难题,重塑教育系统之时。

Dr Rukmini Banerji

CEO, Pratham Education Foundation

Prize

Yidan Prize for Education Development

Year

2021

Expertise

Equality in education; Literacy for all; Policy and research; Education and society; Monitoring, evaluation and assessment; Building partnerships

Focus by region

Africa, Asia

“Every child in school and learning well”

Dr Rukmini Banerji has dedicated her professional life to understanding gaps in education and working to close them. Trained as an economist in India, UK, and USA, she joined Indian NGO Pratham Education Foundation in 1996, supporting Pratham’s education programs and large-scale partnerships with governments. In 2015, after a decade of leading the organization’s research and assessment work, she became Pratham’s CEO.

In 2005, Dr Banerji and her team pioneered the Annual Status of Education Report (ASER) effort. ASER is an annual household-based, citizen-led survey of unprecedented scale, assessing 600,000 children in practically all rural districts in India over 100 days. The report’s findings show that despite spending several years in school, a significant proportion of children are still struggling to read or do basic arithmetic. Since ASER results were published in 2005, 15 countries in South Asia, sub-Saharan Africa, and Latin America including Kenya, Mexico, and Pakistan have launched similar assessments by citizen groups.

In terms of solutions to the learning crisis, over the year, Dr Banerji’s organization—Pratham—has partnered with more than half of India’s state governments to roll out the ‘Teaching at the Right Level’ (TaRL) program. Using the TaRL approach, teachers assess and group children by learning level, not grade, and use activities and materials to help children progress from their current level, to fluency and reading with understanding. Similar foundational goals are also set in maths. While individual schools or communities can adopt TaRL, Dr Banerji emphasizes that large-scale government partnerships hold the potential to bring about large-scale change in learning levels. TaRL is now spreading beyond India, with schools and systems across South Asia and sub-Saharan Africa all adapting and adopting the program.

Pratham also works in the early childhood education areas, with interventions specifically designed to help children aged 3 to 6 develop essential skills and prepare for school.

In 2008, the Government of Bihar, India, awarded Dr Banerji the inaugural Maulana Abul Kalam Shiksha Puraskar. She was the first recipient of this award which recognizes outstanding contributions to education in the state.

 

"Dr Rukmini Banerji and the Pratham team have a clear mission: ‘Every child in school and learning well’. A reminder that we need to focus on education quality and not just school enrolments. The solutions that they have deployed towards this goal have proven to be cost-effective and scalable with a demonstrated potential to impact globally—disruptive education innovation with transformative results.”
Citation

Ms Dorothy K. Gordon

Head, Judging Panel, Yidan Prize for Education Development

Disruptive Education Innovation

Congratulations, Dr Rukmini Banerji and the entire team at Pratham Education Foundation.

Dr Rukmini Banerji, is the 2021 Yidan Prize for Education Development Laureate. She leads a team at Pratham Education Foundation in India, with a clear mission: “Every child in school and learning well”. A reminder that we need to focus on education quality as well as school enrolments. The solutions that Pratham has developed and deployed towards this goal have proven to be cost-effective and scalable with a demonstrated potential to impact globally—disruptive education innovation with transformative results.

There is evidence that well over 50 percent of school age children, do not have the basic literacy and math skills that would allow them to benefit from additional years of schooling. Employment also becomes more difficult. This structural inefficiency is one of the most challenging problems in education. It undermines children’s confidence in their potential with long term impacts on their lives. Numbers are higher for children in low-resourced and rural contexts, and the pandemic is expected to widen the gaps. The Global Alliance to Monitor Learning uses the term ‘Learning Poverty’—the inability of a child to read and understand a text by the time they are 10 years old. They use this to assess the extent of the problem. Current estimates are that hundreds of millions more children could suffer from pandemic related learning poverty if remedial action is not taken. Unfortunately, there are major data gaps. For example, there is no learning data for more than half of school age children in sub-Saharan Africa.

Since 2005, Pratham has developed inclusive community-centric techniques to collect reliable and actionable evidence relating to enrolment and basic learning outcomes of children in rural India. The Annual Status of Education Report (ASER) is a learning assessment for elementary schools that now takes place every two years. Conducted as a household survey, it is a massive undertaking involving a network of district-level organizations and tens of thousands of volunteers. It is designed to generate district, state, and national level estimates of children’s schooling status for all children between ages 3-16. The involvement of parents in this exercise revises notions of whose voices count when collecting and analyzing evidence. People who may be illiterate themselves have the opportunity to give feedback on how their children are educated.

The early findings from ASER gave the team at Pratham a better idea of the nature of the problem in India. They then engaged in a deliberate research and testing process to find a solution. The result is ‘Teaching at the Right Level’ (TaRL), which directly addresses the structures that make it difficult for some children to acquire foundational skills. As the team at Pratham explains, the approach works by dividing children (generally in Grade 3 to 5) into groups based on learning needs rather than age or grade; dedicating time to basic skills rather than focusing solely on the curriculum; and regularly assessing student performance, rather than relying only on end-of-year examinations. Application of TaRL in the classroom is an iterative process that incorporates continuous improvements. Deliberate randomized trials also help monitor the actual impact of the tool on teaching and learning. The evidence shows that TaRL consistently improves learning outcomes.

As the adoption of ASER and TaRL spreads globally, credit must go to Dr Banerji’s exceptional managerial and academic research skills. Her conviction and creativity, and that of her team demonstrate the value of constructive questioning and evidence-based decision making. Important lessons and approaches that we must take into account as we reimagine our education systems in a way that will address both old and new challenges.