2021年度一丹獎提名現已開放

點擊此鏈接了解提名流程。

Usha Goswami教授

劍橋大學認知發展神經科學教授

獎項類別

一丹教育研究獎

年份

2019

專業領域

全民讀寫,認知發展神經科學

受惠地區

歐洲

神經科學為教育改革打開一扇新的大門

Usha Goswami教授是讀寫行為、神經科學與教育領域的世界級學者。

她是劍橋大學認知發展神經科學教授及劍橋大學聖約翰學院研究員。Goswami教授創辦了世界上第一個教育神經科學中心並擔任中心的總監。

 


推動教育改革

她的研究發現,兒童語言節奏模式的意識對語言學習具有重要作用。她也揭示了大腦感知節奏的基礎,并解釋了這一神經認知過程受損並導致發育過程讀寫障礙的機制。這些發現有助於推動教育變革,造福全世界數百萬兒童。

2013年,Goswami教授當選為英國科學院院士,其研究更獲得多項國際知名大獎。她曾向多國政府和機構分享神經科學與教育研究的成果,出版了8本專著,發表了180多篇學術論文。此外,她還寫作了大量面向教育工作者和公眾的文章。

教育創新項目

揭示發育性語言障礙(DLD)的神經基礎

制定分類方法,辨別具有發育性語言障礙風險的兒童

患有發育性語言障礙的兒童在理解與使用口語方面存在困難,且無明顯誘因,影響他們在學校的學習效果。全球有1500多萬名兒童患有發育性語言障礙。

該項目是全世界第一個旨在揭示發育性語言障礙之神經基礎的項目,通過簡單的聽力任務,收集與發育性語言障礙兒童相匹配的神經影像和感官數據。

關於此項目
「Goswami教授站在一門新興教育科學的前沿,採用前沿的影像技術,幫助我們了解大腦如何學習。」
贊辭

Andreas Schleicher先生致辭

一丹教育研究獎評審小組主席

一丹獎努力發展未來教育,鼓勵教育創新和變革,發揮可持續影響。Usha Goswami教授是最契合這些遠大目標的人選。Goswami教授是業内領先的發展心理學家和認知神經科學家,備受尊敬的學者,所提出的方法極具遠見與變革性。

大多數人都將教育視為一種藝術,才華橫溢、熱情高漲的教育工作者夙興夜寐地教育我們的後代,為人類創造一個更美好的未來。但未來的教育不止於此。Goswami教授站在一門新興教育科學的前沿,採用前沿的影像技術,幫助我們了解大腦如何學習,並認識到兒童語言技能習得之個體差異背後的神經處理機制。正如我們所知,神經處理機制是人類發育的核心。Goswami教授的研究讓教育工作者能夠從認知、行為、知覺和神經學等層面,了解兒童的語音意識如何支持跨語言的閱讀發展或形成讀寫障礙。

過去,我們採取相似的方法來教授不同的孩子,有可能導致一些患有讀寫障礙的孩子遭遇挫折。Goswami教授的工作為教育打開了一扇新的大門,幫助每位孩子在學習上獲得成功。同時,她的工作將教育工作者的熱情和直覺與科學知識相結合,讓教育者了解到不同的孩子適合不同的學習方式,採取差異化的教學實踐,推動教育多元化,使成功的教育變得可預期、可推廣和可持續。

當然,只有當我們有能力將理論付諸實踐,科學證據才有價值。因此,Goswami教授並沒有止步於在象牙塔中的學術桂冠,而是運用她在理論、實驗和神經系統的發現,設計和研發新技術,幫助有語言學習障礙和語音障礙的孩子更好地學習語言。她還與全世界的教育領導者和決策者合作,讓他們了解到早期教育的重要性,並且讓人們意識到,如果我們充分了解語言學習的困難,便能更系統地解決這些問題。

她富於創新精神,提出了許多開拓性的見解,並能將這些見解轉化為改善教育的具體措施。她致力於推動教育改革,讓更多孩子能夠掌握知識,像其他人一樣參與生活與公民活動。有鑒於此,她是最理想的一丹獎得獎者,因為一丹獎的宗旨正是「透過教育創造一個更美好的世界」。

毋庸置疑,Goswami教授將成為一丹獎社區的積極參與者。一丹獎社區的成員擁有一個共同的理念:教育能夠開啟一個更美好、更公平和更人性化的世界。

Professor Usha Goswami

Professor of Cognitive Developmental Neuroscience, University of Cambridge

Prize

Yidan Prize for Education Research

Year

2019

Expertise

Literacy for All, Cognitive Developmental Neuroscience

Focus by region

Europe

Opening new doors for educational transformation with revelations in neuroscience

Professor Usha Goswami is a world-leading researcher in the fields of literacy, neuroscience and education.

She is Professor of Cognitive Developmental Neuroscience at the University of Cambridge, and a Fellow of St John’s College Cambridge. Professor Goswami founded and serves as Director of the world’s first Centre for Neuroscience in Education.

 


Enabling educational transformation

Her research has identified the importance of children’s awareness of linguistic rhythm patterns for their reading acquisition, and has also revealed the brain basis of rhythm perception, showing how this neural process is impaired in developmental dyslexia. These discoveries are enabling transformative educational interventions that have the potential to benefit millions of children worldwide.

Professor Goswami was elected a Fellow of the British Academy in 2013, and has won a range of international prizes for her research. She has given talks on neuroscience and learning in numerous countries’ governments and organizations, has published 8 books and over 180 research papers, and has written widely for educators and for the public.

Initiatives

Revealing the neural basis of developmental language disorder (DLD)

Creating a classifier to identify children at risk of DLD

Children with DLD have difficulties understanding and using spoken language for no obvious reasons, affecting how well they learn in schools. Worldwide, over 15 million children are affected by this disorder. 

This project aims to be the first in the world to reveal the neural basis of DLD, by collecting matched neuroimaging and sensory data for DLD children via simple listening tasks.

Learn more about this initiative
“Professor Goswami is at the frontier of developing a new science around education, using cutting-edge imaging technology to help us understand how the brain actually learns.”
Citation

By Mr Andreas Schleicher

Panel Head, Judging Panel for Education Research, Yidan Prize

The Yidan Prize stands for the future of education, for innovation and transformation in education, and for sustainable impact. And no one fits those aspirations better than Professor Usha Goswami, a leading developmental psychologist and cognitive neuroscientist; a highly respected scholar who has been visionary in her approach and transformational in the field.

Many of us consider education an art, with talented and passionate educators making tremendous efforts each day to teach our children and build our future. But the future of education requires more than that. Professor Goswami is at the frontier of developing a new science around education, using cutting-edge imaging technology to help us understand how the brain actually learns, and to recognize the mechanisms of neural processing that are behind individual differences in how children develop language skills, which we all know are at the heart of human development. Thanks to her work, educators can now understand how children’s phonological awareness underpins reading development and dyslexia across languages – at the cognitive, the behavioral, the sensorial and the neural levels. 

So while in the past we taught different children in similar ways to read, at the risk that some will fail, like those with dyslexia, Professor Goswami’s work opens a new door to help every child succeed, and to match the intuition of passionate educators with the scientific understanding of how different children learn differently, so that we can embrace that diversity with differentiated pedagogical practice and make educational success predictable, scalable and sustainable.

Of course, scientific evidence is only as valuable as our capacity to act on it. So Professor Goswami didn’t rest on her academic laurels in an ivory tower. She is now leveraging her theoretical, experimental and neural discoveries to design and build new technologies for the remediation of language and phonological difficulties. And she is reaching out to educational leaders and policy-makers around the world to help them understand the crucial importance of learning in the early years and to create greater awareness that we can address difficulties with language learning far more systematically if we truly understand them. 

Her ingenuity to generate pathbreaking insights, her capacity to translate these insights into tangible tools for educational improvement, and her commitment to make change happen so that more children develop the skills to access the world’s knowledge and join others in life and citizenship make her the ideal Yidan Prize Laureate, because creating a better world through education is what the Yidan Prize is all about.

I have no doubt that Professor Goswami will become an active player in the global Yidan Prize community that is united by the idea that education holds the key to a better, fairer and more humane world.